Film Studies

All Items by Source

Finding Articles

FIAF Restricted Resource
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.
Film Index International Restricted Resource
Film studies index produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
International Index to the Performing Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
IIPA covers all aspects of the performing arts from 1864 onward; some full text is available.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.
Theatre in Video Restricted Resource Some full text available
Streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world’s leading plays, plus over 100 film documentaries

Directories

American Film Institute Restricted Resource
American Film Institute Catalog
IMDB: Internet Movie Database
Popular directory of information about films and actors including plot synopses, reviews and credits.

Web Sites

Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library (MHDL)consists of digitized collections of classic media periodicals in the public domain searchable through the interface "Lantern" (coordinated by the MHDL and Univ of Wisconsin). The MHDL is supported by donors who cover the cost of scanning loaned materials. Periodical collections include early cinema, fan magazines, global cinema, non-theatrical film, technical journals, government and law, magical lantern and lantern slide catalog, and others. 
MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.
Modernist Journals Project
 A joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa to  make "primary source material from 1890 to 1922 freely available for scholars and students of modernism."
Modernist Magazines Project
"A scholarly resource and comprehensive critical and cultural history of modernist magazines in the period 1880-1945. So-called 'little magazines' were small, independent publishing ventures committed to new and experimental work."
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487