French

All Items by Source

Core Databases

MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Background

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Dictionary of Contemporary World History
Brief overviews of events after 1900/
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford encyclopedia covering the 5th to the 15th century.
France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Information on Francophone areas of North and South America.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
FIAF Restricted Resource
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Restricted Resource
Indexes linguistics and related literature.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes French-language newspapers. Click on "News" in the left column, select "Foreign language" and specify French.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

French Culture
Links to  resources on French culture, maintained by the Cultural Services of the French Embassy, U.S.

Citation Styles

MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Reference Counter LB 2369.G53 2009
Offical Style manual and citation manual of the Modern Language Association, used extensively by writers and professors in the literature and arts areas.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Print Location: Reference Counter PN 147.G444 2008

Dictionaries

Collins French Dictionary Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
French/English dictionary last updated in 2007. Available through Credo Reference.

Web Sites

Accueil de Persée
Indexes and provides full text (and archives) for approximately 30+ scientific journals in the humanities.
ATHENA: Literature, Books
One of the largest collections of French literature in electronic form. Pierre Peroud.
CESAR – Calendrier Electronique des Spectacles sous l’Ancien Régime
Links to theatrical entertainment in France during the 17th and 18th centuries.
ClicNet
A guide to French literature and culture on the web, maintained by Swarthmore.
French Studies resources
From the University of Adelaide, this is particularly strong in contemporary and popular culture.
Gallica, bibliothèque numérique
Digital Library of French and France-related materials created by the BNF, Bibliothèque nationale de France.  
note: Further information about contents, searching, etc., is here.
OnlineNewspapers.com
Links to online newspapers by country.
TennesseeBob’s Famous French Links
A mega-site of links to information on literature, history, contemporary culture and events.
Termium Plus
The Government of Canada’s terminology and linguistic data bank.
Finding French language material
Many databases will permit limiting by language - check the first screen before beginning a search, or narrow/refine your results.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: