General

All Items by Source

Background

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
A broad collection of reference sources, with brief articles on a wide range of topics. There are a number of subject specific resources here, such as Immigration and Asylun (2005), Handbook of Aging and the Scoical Sciences (2006), and Handbook of Environmental Sociology (2003).
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference books in the Sciences, Social Sciences, History, Religion, Business, Multicultural Studies and Arts.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
EBSCO Cross-Database Search Restricted Resource
Search most of the databases the library gets through EBSCO. Does not include all databases. Results may be excessively high (or weirdly low)– use with caution.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
Reader's Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Indexes popular topics in older issues of popular journals. Covers 1890 through 1983.
SciELO Citation Index Restricted Resource
The SciELO Citation Index includes: • Approximately 700 titles • Over 4 million cited references • Open access with links to full text through the SciELO site • Weekly updates from the SciELO Brazil data feed • Simplified discovery process for local information in a regional database • An easy search experience with local language interface
note: Choose "Web of Science and Knowledge from A-Z Database List.  Then choose SciELO Citation Index from the dropdown. 

Full Text Articles

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
(Provided through NJ State Library; also available through jerseyclicks.org)
Useful for EXAMPLES of persuasive/point of view essays.
Full-text series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Books

Ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Drew's Ebrary Subscription offers access to over 85,000 academic books for online reading.
note: Sign up for an ebrary account to download books or save them on a bookshelf.
Worldcat Restricted Resource
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org

Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Author biographies, work overviews, literary criticism and bibliographies.

Index/Search Tool

Drew Library Catalog
Catalog of Drew's library holdings: books, ebooks, serial titles, government documents, some websites.
Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
Legal Information Reference Center Restricted Resource
Providing  online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books; contains thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Scholar Search Restricted Resource

New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 
note: See these short instructional videos to help you get the most out of ScholarSearch
 

Introduction to ScholarSearch

Advanced Searching in ScholarSearch 

Emailing and Citing your results with ScholarSearch

Finding Full Text with ScholarSearch

 

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Digital Public Library of America
Links to digitized books, manuscripts, exhibits, photos and videos

Audio Files

FORVO: All the words in the world pronounced Resource contains audio
Audio recordings of volunteer native speakers pronouncing words from over 300 languages. Creating an optional free account allows users to create favorite lists, post requested words for pronounciation, and save audio files as mpeg files, or even contribute pronunciations.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.
Swank Digital Campus Restricted Resource
Streaming film  database customized for Drew's unique needs.   Features popular films, classics and documentaries, categorized by genre and discipline. 

Citation Styles

EndnoteWeb
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
note: You'll need to sign up for EndnoteWeb and install the Cite-While-You-Write tool.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.

Directories

referenceUSA Restricted Resource
Provides detailed, current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents.

Dissertations

American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955
An index to disserations accepted for the doctorate in America from 1933 to 1955. These items are not generally available online, but may be requested via ILL.

Encyclopedias

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of Encyclopaedia Britannica, with links to recommended web sites.
CIA World Factbook
Annually updated, "information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

Government Information

Data.gov
A broad index to U.S. Federal Government data.

Handbooks & Guides

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource
Searchable access to over 200 Oxford University Press reference sources.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
( For advanced functionality, register and login. )

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary source material and historic periodicals including African American Newspapers, Civil War materials, eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.

Quotations

Reviews

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource
Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
We subscribe to Anthropology and Public Health. Others are available up to 2009.

Software

Zotero
Zotero is a free citation management program with an online storage component. It can be downloaded from zotero.org

Statistics/Data

Data.gov
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
Social Explorer Restricted Resource
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information
Statistical Abstract of the United States Restricted Resource
A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States.  Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest.  Updated monthly.

Web Sites

ASL Browser
Glossary to American Sign Language, with video examples of each sign, from Michigan State University. Links to other such dictionaries as well.
Bartleby.com Great Books Online
A collection of reference works including poetry and quotation indexes, full-text for the Bible and Shakespeare, dictionaries and encyclopedias.
BBC Languages
Language learning resources online: in-depth (12-week) online programs on Spanish, Italian, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, and Greek as well as “Quick Fix” lessons in more than 30 other languages, including Arabic, Russian, Turkish, Urdu, Japanese etc. Video, audio clips and culture components. Additional high school and primary grade resources. From British Broadcasting Corporation
BBC News: Country Profiles
Relatively up-to-date profiles of countries including news information on leaders and links to national media.
Best Search Tools Chart
From Infopeople.org.  An excellent guide to selected web directories, meta-search engines, and search engines.
Google Books
Search the contents of a vast array of books. Those that are covered by copyright (generally published in the last 70 years) are usually not fully available online, but you can check to see if Drew owns them, or you can request the works through Interlibrary Loan.
HathiTrust
A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
Internet Scout Report Archives
Describes and reviews the best sites by topic. Use the "Search the Archives" box to look for specific titles or topics.
Martindale’s The Reference Desk
Links to online resources on a wide variety of topics-- choose the science from the list.
Online Books Page – Archives and Indexes
Links to online books and texts, collected by the University of Pennsylvania.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A U.S. Government source for maps of the US and individual states. Map types include county borders, counties and towns, rivers and lakes.
ProCon.org: Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
“We promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship. Our sites present controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format. “
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
ScholarSearch
Limit Your Results:
Book Search
Search Library Catalog:
Research Help

The Reference Desk