German

All Items by Source

Finding Articles

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Index/Search Tool

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Restricted Resource
Indexes linguistics and related literature.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

Web Sites

Fireball Antwortbox
German web directory, covering popular aspects of German culture and society.
germanistik.net Internet Resources for Germanists
Links to a wide range of academic materials; provides an excellent selective list of web sites on approximately two hundred German authors. From the U. of Wisconsin’s German Department.
Goethe Institut
Provides information on contemporary Germany.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.
OnlineNewspapers.com
Links to online newspapers by country.
Paperball Newssuche
Indexes articles in almost two hundred German newspapers.No archive, so you’re only searching the last few days. For better access to back-issues, try “Foreign Language” file under “News” on LexisNexis (Drew University users only).
WESSweb: German Studies Web
Broad focus on German language, literature and culture. Prepared by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, this site is very selective in its choices.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: