Government Information

US - databases
  • A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
  • Business USA
    U.S. Government resources for Business.
  • Catalog of Government Publications - GPO's official catalog. Documents are cataloged from 1976 onward. For older documents, see the print version of this database, the Monthly Catalog (1893-1995) GP 3. 
  • Congressional Research Service Reports
    Select CRS reports. Hosted by UNT libraries. Free website.
  • Crime Solutions
    "The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. "
  • Disability.gov
    Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
  • ERIC Resources Information Center
    ERIC indexing to journal and report literature, available to the general public. Full text of some reports.
  • FDsys  provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. FDsys is the official archive for full text government documents. Collections are searchable, or browseable.  New collections are being added constantly. Browse collections.
  •  USA.gov
  • Federal Register
    "The  Daily Journal of the US Government."
  • FREE — Teaching Resources and Lesson Plans from the Federal Government
    Federal Registry for Educational Excellence: find curriculum and lesson plan sources.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library
    U.S. Government database of “open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management.”
  • Medline Plus
    Health topics, drug information, medical dictionaries and directories and links to organizations, publications, and consumer health libraries. From the National Library of Medicine.
  • National Library of Medicine- Health Information
    Link to MEDLINE, MEDLINEplus and research resources for information on AIDS, cancer, bioethics, the history of medicine, mental health disorders, and more.
  • NCDC – Image and Publications System
    The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world’s largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
  • NLRB : National Labor Relations Board
    The National Labor Relations Board, an independent federal agency, administers the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector.
  • Plants Database
    From the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation service. Provides information about "vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories." Entries will include scientific name, common name(s), classification, species distribution map, and other categories such as images, legal status, links, wildlife connections. Also includes topical categories such as noxious/invasive, endangered/threatened, wetlands, etc.
  • Printable Maps List: Reference and Outline Maps of the United States
    A U.S. Government source for maps of the US and individual states. Map types include county borders, counties and towns, rivers and lakes.
  • Regulations.gov
    "Submit your comments on proposed regulations and related documents published by the U.S. Federal government. You can also use this site to search and review original regulatory documents as well as comments submitted by others."
  • U.S. Congress List of Committees
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    Site facilitates access to technical data, regulatory material and compliance information, and the EPA policy line. Keyword and other search capabilities are provided.
  • USA Trade Online
    Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data, by NAICS and enhanced SIC codes. (username and password – ask at Reference desk)
  • Wage Determinations OnLine
    "Providing public access to federal wage determinations and other information."
US - Congressional Resources

THOMAS provides:

Bills, Resolutions - Full text search for the current Congress.

  • Bill Summary & Status - 93rd (1973) through current Congress
  • The full text of bills can be searched across multiple Congresses - 101st (1989) through current Congress
  • Public Laws by number - 93rd (1973) through current Congress
    • House Roll Call Votes - 101st Congress, 2nd session (1990) through current Congress
    • Senate Roll Call Votes - 101st Congress, 1st session through current Congress (1989 - present)
  • Activity in Congress
  • Congressional Record
  • Schedules, Calendars
  • Committee Information
    • full text 104th (1995) through current Congress
  • Presidential Nominations

Information provided about Presidential Nominations includes the Presidential Nomination number, the date the nomination was received the committee to which it has been referred, legislative actions, and the nominee(s) - from the 100th Congress (1987) through current Congress.

  • Treaties

Information provided about Treaties includes treaty number, the date the treaty was transmitted, short title, formal title, treaty type, legislative actions and index terms - 90th (1967) through current Congress. Complete coverage begins with the 94th Congress. Older treaties are included if they were pending in 1975 when the database was created.

ProQuest Congressional accessible from Resources by Title.

LexisNexis Congressional home page provide the following options:

Congressional Publications:

  • Committee Prints (1970 onward)
  • Hearings (1970 onward)
  • House and Senate Documents (1970 onward)
  • House and Senate Reports (1970 onward)
  • Legislative Histories (1969 onward - abstracts)

Members and Committees (101st Congress onward)
Regulations (1981 onward)

  • Code of Federal Regulations
  • Federal Register

Congressional Record (99th Congress onward)
Political Bills and Hot Topics

LexisNexis Academic
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

For a detailed look at how U.S. Congress votes: The Washington Post U.S. Congress Votes Database, "is a deep database of every vote in the United States Congress since the 102nd Congress (1991)."

 Guide to Law Online site from the Library of Congress links to " full texts of laws, regulations, and court decisions, along with commentary from lawyers writing primarily for other lawyers. Materials related to law and government that were written by or for lay persons also have been included, as have government sites that provide even quite general information about themselves or their agencies." This excellent source covers:  -  

  • International and multinational law
  • U.S. Federal law
  • State law
  • Law for U.S. Territories

Congress.gov - "Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Printing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service."
 
 
US - Statistics

General:

  • Data.gov
    "Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
  • FedStats
    Gateway to statistics from over 100 Federal agencies
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States.  Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest.  Updated monthly.
  • Historical Statistical Abstracts of the United States
  • Most federal agencies collect statistics relevant to their legislative charge. Some examples of this include:
     
Bureau of Justice Statistics - "BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."

National Center for Education Statistics - "The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."

 Census: 

US - Archival collections online
  • 19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies - Sponsored by the American Studies program of Washington State University, this site has an extensive collection of primary sources from the late 18th century to early 20th on a variety of topics. Many of these sources are government documents.
  • A Century of Lawmaking For A New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875 - The American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
    • American State Papers 1789-1838
    • Debates
    • Annals of Congress 1789-1824)
    • Register of Debates 1824-1837
    • Congressional Globe 1833-73
    • Congressional Record 1873-1875
    • Journals of the Continental Congress 1774-89
    • Constitutional Convention
    • Journals of House and of the Senate 1789-1875
    • Annals of Congress 1789-1824 - debates of Congress
    • Senate Executive Journal 1789-1875
    • Maclay's Journal
    • Bills and Resolutions - 6th Congress (1799) House of Representatives; 16th Congress (1819) Senate (selected documents)
    • Statutes at Large 1789-1875
    • Journals of the Continental Congress 1774-1789
    • Letters of Delegates to Congress 1774-1789
    • Elliot's Debates 1787-1788
    • Farrand's Records 1787

Also consider using large, recommended directories to find older government documents:

Drew's Gov Docs collection


Drew University Library has been a depository for U.S. Government publications since 1939. As a selective depository, Drew selects over one-third of all documents distributed by the Government Printing Office (GPO). With the passing of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993, items selected by the Drew depository are increasingly online, with access to documents via links. Currently, Drew receives few print/microfiche/CD-ROM documents. Drew does have a very nice archival print government documents collection dating from the 18th century. These include 19th century census material, documents related to Native American affairs, material from the Bureau of Education and the Labor Department as well as records from the first Congress (1789) onward.

Government documents are received in paper, microfiche, video, electronic (e.g. CD-ROM, DVD) and increasingly through online access (e.g. URLs, PURLs) format. Most tangible documents circulate. Documents labeled or stamped with "US DOCS REF," "DO NOT CIRCULATE," or "LIBRARY USE ONLY" cannot be charged out. Anyone, whether associated with Drew or not, can charge out circulating U.S. government documents.

Reference assistance is available for accessing U.S. Government Documents. Contact Beth Patterson (epatters@drew.edu; 973 408-3480) or ask for help at the Reference Desk.

Using the Collection

Locating older documents:

Step One: Find the SuDoc number for a particular document.

  • The following indexes and databases are good starting points:
    • The Drew Library Catalog contains entries for most documents received by Drew since January 1990. Drew Library provides a shelf list of all government documents in the collection. This shelf list is located on A-level in the Rose portion of the library (map).
    • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications indexes documents dating from 1976 to the present. The index links to some full text documents.
    • Worldcat (accessed from Electronic Resources by Title) includes entries from the Monthly Catalog since 1976. Searching is possible by keyword, personal or corporate author, title, report number or SuDoc #
    • The print Monthly Catalog, and its predecessor volumes, indexes documents from 1789 to the present. The Monthly Catalog is located in compact shelving on A-level (Learning Center) under the following SuDoc numbers, GP 3.6: and GP 3.8:. The following resources, located on A-level (Rose) are also helpful in locating older government documents:
      • US DOCS REF 015.73 P823d - A Descriptive Catalogue of Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5 1774-March 4, 1881
      • US DOCS REF 015.73 U58c - Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893.
      • US DOCS REF 015.73 U.S. Subject Index - Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of the United States Government Publications, 1900-1971.
      • US DOCS REF 015.73 L642c - Cumulative Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976.
      • The Drew depository collection includes other indexes. Please check the library Catalog.
    • ProQuest Congressional (accessed from Electronic Resources by Title) uses the CIS Index and contains many full text documents listed in the index. A print version of the CIS Index is located in the US DOCS REF section on A-level (Rose): US DOCS REF 328.7303 C749 as is its predecessor US DOCS REF 328.73 C749c US Serial Set Index (1789-1969).
    • A print version of the ASI (American Statistical Index) can be found in the US DOCS REF section on A-level Rose:  016.3173 A512a
  • Online access to selected older full text documents.
    • FDsys, a free service of the US Government Printing Office, provides electronic access for many government documents.
    • A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation, from the Library of Congress. Access to selected legislated 18th and 19th century documents.
    • Government Information- How to Find It provides links to archival and current government information hosted by Universities and other non-governmental entities.

Step Two: Find the document on the shelf/draw using the SuDoc #.

Use the SuDoc number to check the government documents shelf list to see whether Drew owns the documents. Cards are organized by SuDoc number. Cards in the shelf list refer to documents shelved on

  • M-fiche - documents in microfiche format, housed in the documents microfiche cabinets located on Rose A-Level
  • Periodicals - documents housed in the main Drew periodicals collection
  • Oversize - unwieldy documents shelved on A-Level at the end of the main collection.
  • Dewey Decimal numbers - Shelf list cards that list Dewey Decimal numbers along with the SuDoc numbers indicate that these documents are housed in the main book collection.
  • Tips:
  • Letters reflect the agencies issuing the document. Most letters correspond to the actual name of the agency: ED for Department of Education, S for the State Department, LC for Library of Congress, EP for Environmental Protection agency, HS for Department of Homeland Security, etc. Congressional documents are an exception to this rule. They begin with either X or Y designation (e.g. Y 4. for Congressional Hearings).
  • Numbers following punctuation (e.g. periods or semicolons) in SuDoc classification are always read as whole numbers, not as decimal numbers as in the Dewey Decimal Classification.
    For example: A 1.16: is shelved before A 1.102: 

Archival collections include:

  • Legislation/law/regulation:
  • Indexes to the Serial Set:
    • CIS U.S. Serial Set Index (1789-1969) US DOCS REF 328.73 C749c
    • CIS Annual (1970-2000) US DOCS REF 328.7303 C749c
    • CIS Index Annual (2001-2004) US DOCS REF 328.7303 C749c
    • Checklist of United States public documents 1789-1909, congressional: to close of Sixtieth Congress; departmental: to end of calendar year 1909 - GP 3.2:c 41/2
    • Tables of and annotated index to the Congressional series of United States public documents - GP 3.2:P 96 (A-level)
    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set Finding List
      Search by Agency, Sudocs or Serial  Set number. From the Wooster Libraries. 
  • Indexes to Government Documents
    • Cumulative Index of Congressional Committee Hearings (1935-1980) -  Y 1.3: H 35/2/
    • Monthly Catalog (1893-1995) GP 3. 6: for 1994 onward online see the Catalog of Government Publications. 
    • Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog (1900-1971) - US DOCS REF 015.73 U.S. subject index 
    • Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents 1789-1976 - US DOCS REF 015.73 L642c
    • A descriptive catalogue of the government publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881- US DOCS REF 015.73 P823d
    • Comprehensive index to the publications of the United States government, 1881-1893 - US DOCS REF I 15.2: In2
    • Guide to U.S. government publications - US DOCS REF 015.73 G946g
New Jersey government
BROKEN TOKEN:
  • {{dab},{248}, {BEA – State BEARFACTS},{01}}
  • {{dab},{382}, {County and City Data Books},{01}}
  • Historical Media Databases - lists databases produced by states or their political subdivisions that provide online access to historical photographs, video, or audio.
  • {{dab},{76}, {LexisNexis Academic},{01}}
  • New Jersey by the Numbers
    From the Star Ledger. Covers topics such as public payrolls, property taxes, education, crime, elections and more.BROKEN TOKEN:
  • New Jersey Digital Collection - Links to hundreds of source documents scanned by the NJ State Library.
  • {{dab},{642}, {New Jersey Environmental Digital Library},{01}}
  • New Jersey Health Statistics from 1877 to 2000: An Historical Electronic Compendium of Published Reports - an "enormous archive of official annual reports on the health of New Jersey" from the Library at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey.
  • {{dab},{169}, {New Jersey Information – From NJ State Library},{01}}
  • {{dab},{694}, {New Jersey Law},{01}}
  • {{dab},{520}, {New Jersey State Archives: Imaged Collections},{01}}
  • {{dab},{695}, {New Jersey State Homepage},{01}}
  • {{dab},{858}, {State Blue Books},{01}}
  • {{dab},{588}, {State Fact Sheets – USDA Economic Research Service},{01}}
  • {{dab},{797}, {State Government Information Index},{01}}
International documents
  • Delegation of the European Union to the United States
    "The European Union is a unique economic and political partnership among 28 diverse democracies united in their commitment to peace, democracy, the rule of law, and respect for human rights. It is represented in the United States by the Washington, DC Delegation of the European Union, a full-fledged diplomatic mission working in close coordination with the Embassies and Consulates of the 28 EU Member States."
  • EuroDocs
    “These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible. These open access sources are readily available to all — without fees or subscriptions.”
  • European Union Institutions and Bodies
    Links to EU units. Collected by  Berkeley Library.
  • European Union Internet Resources
    From the University of California Berkeley Library.
  • Governments on the WWW
    "Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties."
  • LABORSTA Internet
    International Labor statistics of all kinds, from the International Labour Office.
  • Question of Palestine
    "The United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine (UNISPAL) was established and is being developed by the Division for Palestinian Rights in response to successive General Assembly mandates. The main collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace." 
  • UCB Libraries/ Foreign Information by Country
    Great LibGuide from the University of Colorado Boulder for research on countries worldwide
  • UNdata
    A single entry point for UN statistical databases.
  • Official Documents of the United Nations
    ODS covers all types of official UN documentation published since 1993, resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic & Social Council and Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Also links to the old version of ODS, for those familiar with the UN documentation system.
  • United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law
    The Audiovisual Library is a unique, multimedia resource which provides the United Nations with the unprecedented capacity to provide high quality international law training and research materials to an unlimited number of recipients on a global level. The Audiovisual Library consists of three pillars: (1) the Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) theLecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) theResearch Libraryproviding an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. The Audiovisual Library is available to all individuals and institutions around the world for free via the Internet.
  • United Nations Climate Change Portal
    Searchable reports (including the "Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change"), research findings, and other U.N. documents relating to global climate change.  Some documents available in other languages, e.g. Arabic, Chinese, French, and more.
  • United Nations Statistics Division
    Access Social and Demographic statistics, and the Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
Citation guides
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.