History

All Items by Source

Core Databases

America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.

Finding Articles

ABSEES Online Restricted Resource
Indexes articles, books, reviews, dissertations and government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Citations to publications worldwide related to the East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Cross-searchable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The HistoryMakers® Videos and full transcripts for interviews with 100 contemporary African Americans, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of a mix of publications, primarily popular, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
Proquest Military Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
SAGE online journals Restricted Resource
Online journal source.

Books

Drew Library Catalog
Catalog of Drew's library holdings: books, ebooks, serial titles, government documents, some websites.
Worldcat Restricted Resource
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org

Index/Search Tool

Library of Congress Databases & E-Resources
Free databases offered by the Library of Congress.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Bibliographies

International Medieval Bibliography Online Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly articles, essays and reviews published from 1967 to the present on the Middle Ages, from a variety of disciplines.
(Click ENTER DATABASES button on main page)

Dictionaries

Middle English Dictionary
A comprehensive analysis of Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. (Free website.)
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Open Access Theses and Dissertations
"Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use."

Encyclopedias

Black Women in America Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Biographical and subject reference on African-American women in American history.


Oxford African American Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, Africana, content from the African American National Biography project, Encyclopedia of African American Art & Architecture, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, articles from other reference works, bibliographies, timelines, maps, images, primary source documents, links to Internet resources.
Digital Encyclopedia of George Washington
From the Mount Vernon Ladies's Association.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
Encyclopedia Judaica
Print Location: Reference DS102.8 .E496 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering “Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.”
Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: Reference BL31 .E46 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Major reference work in religion and related subjects.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reference book covering the historical period known as the Enlightenment, from 1690 through 1815.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford encyclopedia covering the 5th to the 15th century.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States; organized around seven time periods that correspond to key eras in American history.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Print Location: CB9 .N49 2005 Restricted Resource
"A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. "
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ïnternational-scope reference on economic history, with short articles on people and longer ones on “markets, industries, and labor.”
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ïnternational-scope reference on economic history, with short articles on people and longer ones on “markets, industries, and labor.”
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering “Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.”
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia covering the social, political and religious changes of the Reformation and the sixteenth century.
Salem History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of Modern Scandals and The Decades (America in the Nineties, etc), dictionary/encyclopedia of historical trend topics.

Government Information

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)
Proquest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexing and text of a variety of sources pertaining to US government, including many Congressional publications. Coverage extends back 7 to 20 years.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
( For advanced functionality, register and login. )

Organizations

AHA Directory of Affiliated Societies
Provided by the American Historical Association, this identifies hundreds of specialized historical societies, ranging from American Conference for Irish Studies to the Urban History Association.

Primary Sources

Accessible Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary source material and historic periodicals including African American Newspapers, Civil War materials, eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
Ebony
Print Location: A-level and atrium (current)
African American Magazine. Microfilm: v 10 (1954) - v 69, Iss. 1-12 (Oct 2014) 2013 - current in print also.
The Crisis
Print Location: A-level
An African American Periodical. Library has in print: v 52 1945 - v 54 1947,v 65 1958 - v 73 1966
Some articles from this magazine are also available online from the Black Studies Center Database.

The Crusader
Print Location: 973.0496005 C957
African American Periodical. The Library owns in print: Issues for Sept. 1918-Oct. 1920 lack whole number but constitute whole no. 1-26.
Reprint lacks v. 5, no. 1 (Sept. 1921).
African American Historical Serials Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete texts of six African-American newspapers from the North, ranging from 1837 to 1860.
New York Times Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text/page images for the New York Times, 1851 – 2007.
America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
1690-1922 including Early American Newspapers Series 1, Series 2 and Series 3. Search full text & view scanned pages.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains the full text of selected articles from Northern and Southern American newspapers, Nov. 1860-April 1865.
Irish Newspaper Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
A complete digitization of Ireland’s newspaper heritage. Over 30  titles with dates ranging from 1738 to the present; fully keyword searchable.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is the searchable electronic text version of the massive, printed set also called Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH), a collection of primary materials for the study of the European Middle Ages. The e-MGH includes selected portions of the printed set.
note: cancelled 2016
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
 

Indexes to magazines and books of the 19th century (1800-1899), with some full text.


Pennsylvania Gazette Restricted Resource Some full text available
Text and images from one of the major and longest-running newspapers of 18th century America. Covers 1728-1800, with additional excerpts from The Pennsylvania Packet after 1766. ( Choose Pennsylvania Gazette from the menu when connected. )
Reader's Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Indexes popular topics in older issues of popular journals. Covers 1890 through 1983.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A fulltext database of literary and philosophical works in Greek, spanning the time of Homer to the fall of Byzantium.
note: Users will need to register for a free account to access the full corpus.
Women Writers Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
230+ sources from pre-Victorian women.
World History General
  • Avalon Project
    “The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. “
  • EGO: European History Online
    “EGO links refereed academic articles to images, primary sources, statistics, animated and interactive maps, as well as audio and video clips. This multi-media network enables a journey through space, time and themes. The various elements can be browsed in all directions via links and navigation bars."
  • EuroDocs
    “These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible. These open access sources are readily available to all — without fees or subscriptions.”
  • European History Primary Sources
    "Searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe."
  • Repositories of Primary Sources
    A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. Links to many online archives.
  • Gapminder: Unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view.
    Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries are web-services displaying time series of development statistics for all countries, "converting boring numbers into enjoyable, animated and interactive graphics."
  • Governments on the WWW
    "Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties."
  • HathiTrust
    A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
  • International Data Base - U.S. Census Bureau
    "The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. "
  • Internet Archive
    3 million out of copyright texts, music, video and more!
  • Manuscriptorium: Building Virtual Research Environment for the Sphere of Historical Resources
    Access to digitized materials from the libraries of Europe.
  • Mapping History
    Provides "interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics." from the University of Oregon.
  • Maps on the Web
    From Oxford Digital Library.
  • Not Even Past
    "Dynamic, accessible, short articles on every field of History...  developed by the Department of History at the University of Texas at Austin."
  • Old Maps Online
    "The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world."
  • World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
    Links to resources in Criminal Justice.
  • WWW-VL History Central Catalogue
    Oldest index to history materials online (since 1993). Provides the Central Catalogue for an integrated and international history network, a substantive resource for both students and scholars. U. of Kansas.
World History by Period
World History by Topic
  • AdHoc Image and Text Database on History of Christianity
    Digitized reports and images relating especially to the history of Christian missions, courtesy Yale Divinity School.
  • Anti Slavery International
    "Anti-Slavery International works at local, national and international levels to eliminate all forms of slavery around the world."
  • Archaeology Data Service
    ArchSearch searches over a million archaeology records; Archives searches journals (including vols 1-50 of Medieval Archaeology full text), grey literature, websites, etc.; and under Teaching and Learning you can find items such as the Archaeology Image Data Bank.
  • Archaeology WWW Links – Classical Archaeology
  • City Mayors – Mayors Running the World’s Cities
    News and information site from the City Mayors Foundation.
  • Cold War International History Project
    The Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) .....supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to accelerate the process of integrating new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War which has been written over the past few decades largely by Western scholars reliant on Western archival sources. It also seeks to transcend barriers of language, geography, and regional specialization to create new links among scholars interested in Cold War history."
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    "The historical map collection has over 43,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africaare also represented."
  • EuroNews: The European News Channel
    Website of a European News network.
  • Global Slavery Index
    "The inaugural edition of the Global Slavery Index 2013 provides a ranking of 162 countries around the world, based on a combined measure of three factors: estimated prevalence of modern slavery by population, a measure of child marriage, and a measure of human trafficking in and out of a country.  The Index provides a quantitative ranking of 162 countries around the world according to the estimated prevalence of slavery, that is, the estimated percentage of enslaved people in the national population at a point in time.  The Index also provides an estimate of the size of the modern slavery problem, country by country."  From the Walk Free Foundation
  • Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online
    Digitized materials collected by the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System, specifically transcripts of interviews conducted with Soviet refugees.
  • The Illustrated First World War
    "With the centenary of the First World War upon us, ILN Ltd, the custodians of the celebrated Illustrated London News and Great Eight Illustrated Magazine collection archives, felt a responsibility to make the 1914-18 archives available to the public for research, education and pleasure. With the help of a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund, The Illustrated First World War website was created."  
  • Making the History of 1989
    Documents the Fall of Communism in Eastern Europe.
  • Map History / History of Cartography
    Old maps, early maps— non-current maps in general—are the subject of this site.
  • Profiles in Science
    From the National Library of Medicine. "This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health. It makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public through modern digital technology."
  • Shots of War: Photojournalism During the Spanish Civil War
    Photos and information.
  • SIPRI – Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
    Resources on global security.
  • The Telegraph: World War 2
    Telegraph articles on World War 2 from 1939, historical pictures and video and the latest news on the 70th anniversary of the outbreak of World War 2.
  • Visual History Archive Online (VHA Online)
    "Welcome to the Visual History Archive Online (VHA Online) – an online portal from USC Shoah Foundation that allows users to search through and view nearly 52,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides. These testimonies were conducted in 58 countries and in 34 languages." You must register to use this site.
  • World War I Document Archive
    "This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L)."
  • World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
    Links to resources in Criminal Justice.
World History by Region
  • A Vision of Britain through Time
    Historical Census reports, atlases, travel writing and more!
  • British History Online
    "British History Online is run by the Institute of Historical Research - the centre for the study of history in the UK - at the University of London. Our goal is to produce highly accurate digital versions of the core works of British history, as part of the Institute's national role in historical research."
  • CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts
    Searchable online textbase consisting of over 1000 contemporary and historical documents relating to Irish history, culture and literature. Based at University College Cork.
  • Connected Histories – British History Sources, 1500-1900
    “Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.”
  • Cornucopia
    “An online database of information about more than 6,000 collections in the UK’s museums, galleries, archives and libraries.”
  • DeStatis - Federal Statistical Office of Germany
    "Our mission is to provide and disseminate statistical information which has to be objective, independent and of high quality. Our federal statistics are available to everybody: politicians, authorities, businesses and citizens."
  • Digitized Afghanistan Materials in English
    From the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection.
  • European Union Institutions and Bodies
    Links to EU units. Collected by  Berkeley Library.
  • National Archives – The Cabinet Papers 1915 – 1977
    UK Cabinet papers and documents.
  • National Library of Ireland Digital Resources
    Manuscripts and visual resources from the collections of the National Library of Ireland.
  • Nuremberg Trial Project
    "The Harvard Law School Library ... documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT)." Includes "trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers."
  • Portuguese Culture
    "Portuguese Culture is a special Digital Library Project undertaken by the National Library of Portugal with the financial support of the Luso-American Development Foundation... making freely available on the Internet English translations of works by Portuguese authors and other works in English that deal with Portugal and aspects of the Portuguese culture."
  • Primary Sources- Sondiata and Mansa Musa on the Web
    Primary Sources on medieval West African History.
  • Question of Palestine
    "The United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine (UNISPAL) was established and is being developed by the Division for Palestinian Rights in response to successive General Assembly mandates. The main collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace." 
  • Timelines: Sources from History
    "This British Library timeline allows you to explore collection items chronologically, from medieval times to the present day. It includes a diverse combination of texts: those that allow glimpses of everyday life (handbills, posters, letters, diaries), remnants of political events (charters, speeches, campaign leaflets), and the writings of some of our best known historical and literary figures."
African American History
 
  • African Studies Internet Resources
    A collection of links specifically on Africa, compiled by Columbia University.
  • African-American Mosaic Exhibition
    Primary Sources on African American History: Exhibits and digital material from the Library of Congress’s collections.
  • African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
    From the NYPL's Digital Schomburg collection.
  • Africana Age
    Africa and African Diasporan transformation in the 20th century. From the New York Public Library.
  • American Black Journal
    "Documenting Detroit & American History from African-American Perspectives." From Detroit Public Television.
  • American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
    Samples of slave narratives compiled by journalists between 1936 to 1938 funded by the WPA.
  • Black Abolitionist Archive
    “The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files. “
  • BlackPast.org
    "The website is divided into three main areas: African American History (AAH), African American History in the West (AAW), and Global African History (GAH). Under each of those headings you will find a vast array of resources." Excellent site for primary sources, such as speeches, "Black Codes" and much more. Also provides some interesting statistical data.
  • Boston African Americana Project
    "The Boston African Americana Project gathers visual and textual materials held by the [Boston] Athenaeum, the Bostonian Society, Historic New England, and the Massachusetts Historical Society.
  • Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
    "The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories across the United States."
  • Digital Harlem: Everyday Life 1915-1930
    “The Digital Harlem website presents information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City’s Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930.”
  • Digital Library of American Slavery
    “The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.”Freedman's Bureau
    "The Bureau supervised all relief and educational activities relating to refugees and freedmen, including issuing rations, clothing and medicine. The Bureau also assumed custody of confiscated lands or property in the former Confederate States, border states, District of Columbia, and Indian Territory. The bureau records were created or maintained by bureau headquarters, the assistant commissioners and the state superintendents of education and included personnel records and a variety of standard reports concerning bureau programs and conditions in the states."
  • Famous Firsts by African Americans
    List of firsts by African Americans.
  • Free at Last? Slavery in Pittsburgh in the 18th and 19th Centuries
    From the University of Pittsburgh, based on the exhibition created by Robert Hill and exhibited at the Heinz History Center from October 25, 2008 to April 5, 2009.,
  • Freedman's Bureau
    "The Bureau supervised all relief and educational activities relating to refugees and freedmen, including issuing rations, clothing and medicine. The Bureau also assumed custody of confiscated lands or property in the former Confederate States, border states, District of Columbia, and Indian Territory. The bureau records were created or maintained by bureau headquarters, the assistant commissioners and the state superintendents of education and included personnel records and a variety of standard reports concerning bureau programs and conditions in the states."
  • Freedom Summer Digital Collection
    Mississippi Freedom Summer Project 1964
  • Friend of Man
    "Friend of Man is one of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements. The periodical is of special significance because with the exception of religion, scholars know little about the resources of social movements in rural areas such as Central New York, where Friend of Man was published. Cornell is truly fortunate to have a close to complete set of Friend of Man, 283 issues, published from 1836 - 1842."
  • Harlem History
    Images and text collected and digitized by Columbia University.
  • HathiTrust
    A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
  • Historical Census Browser
    “In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. In a few cases, the census data were augmented with information from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Council of Churches of Christ.”
  • Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
    An excellent compilation of free full text access to important documents from the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Documents date from the 1950's onward.
  • Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists
    “The Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists is a compact but highly complex, multi-layered compilation of documents, sound recordings, and visual images.”
  • King Center Digital Archive
    “Established in 1968 by Mrs. Coretta Scott King, The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (“The King Center”) has been a global destination, resource center and community institution for over a quarter century. “
  • Library System – Howard University: Guides: African Americans (Internet Links)
    Howard University’s compilation of web sites related to African Americans. As well as including sites on history, culture, and literature, they also list sources on demographics, health, and science.
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute
    Includes the King Papers.
  • Primary Sources- Sondiata and Mansa Musa on the Web
    Primary Sources on medieval West African History.
  • Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
    Digital Schomburg- Material from New York Public Library’s premiere collection on African American history and literature.
  • Slavery & Abolition in the US
    Select Publications of the 1800s that “digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery.” Run by Dickinson College & Millersville University
  • Southern Education Foundation – publications
    “The Southern Education Foundation (SEF) works to advance creative solutions to ensure fairness and excellence in education for all.” Publications date back to the 1950′s.
  • Texas Slavery Project
    The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850.
American History General
  • American Historical Association
    "The American Historical Association (AHA) is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies. The AHA provides leadership for the discipline, protects academic freedom, develops professional standards, aids in the pursuit and publication of scholarship, and supplies various services to sustain and enhance the work of its members."
  • American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
    Links to numerous primary documents, audio recordings, images and more. Browse by topic of search by keyword.
  • Avalon Project
    “The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. “
  • Digital History (U.S.)
    A collaborative effort to provide digital access to secondary and primary materials in U.S. history.
  • HathiTrust
    A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
  • Internet Archive
    3 million out of copyright texts, music, video and more!
  • Mapping the Measure of America
    A product of the Social Science Research council; mapping data used in the Human Development Index.
  • National Archives
    Exhaustive index to archives housed by the National Archives in Washington DC. Some fulltext online access available.
  • Not Even Past
    "Dynamic, accessible, short articles on every field of History...  developed by the Department of History at the University of Texas at Austin."
  • Online Library of Liberty, from the Liberty Fund
    "Liberty Fund, Inc. is a private, educational foundation established in 1960 to encourage the study of the ideal of a society of free and responsible individuals. The Foundation develops, supervises, and finances its own educational activities to foster thought and encourage discourse on enduring intellectual issues pertaining to liberty." 
  • Our Documents: 100 Milestone Documents
    "A list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965."
  • Repositories of Primary Sources
    A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. Links to many online archives.
  • State of the News Media
    An annual report on American Journalism.
  • States Perform
    “States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
  • Statistical atlas of the United States based on the results of the ninth census 1870 with contributions from many eminent men of science and several departments of the government Co
    Maps, statistics and more. Digitized by the Library of Congress.
American History by Period
  • 19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies
    Extensive collection of primary sources from the late 18th century to early 20th on topics ranging from prominent individuals to African-American women and Native Americans. Section on visual culture accesses extensive collections of maps, photographs and cartoons, and other pieces of visual culture.
  • American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications
    Online access to many of the founding Fathers’ writings, from the Library of Congress.
  • Broadside Verses Collection – Enoch Pratt Free Library
    “The Broadside Verses provide a unique look into life in 19th century America, especially life in Maryland between 1860 and 1865, when the country was in turmoil, and immediately after the Civil War. Most of these verses have a political message, but others – advertisements, love songs, temperance songs, ballads about life and death – show what life was like for Marylanders and other Americans after the Civil War, providing insight into the American character and personality.”
  • Early Americas Digital Archive
    Electronic texts written in or about the Americas from 1492 to around 1820. Maryland Institute for Technology supports EADA.
  • Founders Online
    "CORRESPONDENCE AND OTHER WRITINGS OF SIX MAJOR SHAPERS OF THE UNITED STATES: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison. Over 149,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects."
  • Making of America
    A " digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. " Full text with some indexing of books and journals from between 1840-1900 in Cornell University’s collection.
  • NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship)
    NINES "is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first."
  • Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
    Early War Department papers lost due to fire have been reassembled by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Invaluable source materials for research.
  • Rotunda – Founders Early Access
    Online access to early American documents.
  • Sid Lapidus Collection on Liberty and the American Revolution
    Digitized collection of approx. 180 primary source materials on ” the intellectual origins of the American Revolution; the Revolution itself; the early years of the republic; the resulting spread of democratic ideas in the Atlantic world; and the effort to abolish the slave trade in both Great Britain and the United States.” Part of the Princeton University Digital Library.
American History by Topic
  • 1940 Census Records
    "The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions."
  • A New Nation Votes
    Election results from early elections.
  • American Geographical Society Library - UWM Libraries Digital Collections
    "The Digital Collections at the UWM Libraries include over 100,000 photographic images, maps, and books drawn from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, the Archives, Special Collections, and the Curriculum Library."
  • American President: Resource on the U.S. Presidents
    From the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, an excellent reference source for US presidents, with biographical and professional information and loads of links to more resources.
  • Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection
    "The Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection provides online access to digital audio files of cylinders in the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive. Belfer's cylinder collection includes over 22,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique titles."
  • Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project
    "The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project documents the female experience in the U.S. Armed Forces through letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts, and oral histories. It contains more than 500 individual collections which includes 300 oral histories. Housed and maintained in the University Archives in Jackson Library, the materials are a research collection for scholars of military history as well as women's studies."
  • Bracero Archive
    "The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964."
  • BRB Free Public Records
    The “most comprehensive directory of free public record sites, reference material, and public record vendors available.”
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
  • Cold War International History Project
    The Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) .....supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to accelerate the process of integrating new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War which has been written over the past few decades largely by Western scholars reliant on Western archival sources. It also seeks to transcend barriers of language, geography, and regional specialization to create new links among scholars interested in Cold War history."
  • Collections Search Center, Smithsonian Institution
    Search the catalogs of the Smithsonian; some of the records contain "online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources."
  • Commission on Presidential Debates
    The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) was established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners. Its primary purpose is to sponsor and produce debates for the United States presidential and vice presidential candidates and to undertake research and educational activities relating to the debates. The organization, which is a nonprofit, nonpartisan , 501(c)(3) corporation, sponsored all the presidential debates in 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2008.
  • Constitution Project
    "The Constitution Project brings together policy experts and legal practitioners from across the political spectrum to foster consensus-based solutions to the most difficult constitutional challenges of our time." Issues covered include "Checks and Balances," "Counterterrorism," "Criminal Discovery," "Data Collection and Privacy," the death penalty, "Government Surveillance and Searches," immigration, right to counsel, sentencing, and "Transparency and Accountability."
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    "The historical map collection has over 43,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africaare also represented."
  • Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls
    Stanford’s Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection consists of over 8,000 individual items, and includes long runs of the major dime novel series.
  • Dirksen Congressional Center: [Historical Collections] Everett M. Dirksen, Newsletters: Congressional Front, 1933-46
    "From his first week in office in the House of Representatives through 1946, Congressman Everett Dirksen personally composed and typed weekly newsletters (while Congress was in session) to his constituents in central Illinois. Congressional Front, as it was called, covered the personalities, politics, and policies of Congress and the federal government."
  • Discovering American Women's History Online
    This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
  • Doris Duke Collection
    “Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes.”
  • Economic Policy Institute
    Nonpartisan think tank, focusing on needs of the American worker.
  • Existing Oral History Sites - Veterans
    "This list is a selective, annotated compilation of the many existing oral history projects, programs and collections dedicated to recording and preserving the experiences of veterans and civilians." From the Library of Congress.
  • Farm, Field and Fireside. Agricultural Newspaper Collection
    "Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America. The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries."
  • FedFlix : Free Movies : Download & Streaming : Internet Archive Unrestricted Resource
    "The best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors." All videos are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever. Joint project between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org.
  • Foreign Language Press Survey
    "The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Works Projects Administration of Illinois. The purpose of the project was to translate and classify selected news articles that appeared in the foreign language press from 1855 to 1938. The project consists of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities of Chicago."
  • Freedom in the 50 states
    “This [2011] study comprehensively ranks the American states on their public policies that affect individual freedoms in the economic, social, and personal spheres.” From the George Mason MERCATUS Center
  • FRUS, 1961-63: Cuban Missile Crisis and Aftermath
    Foreign Relations of the United States volume on the Cuban Missle Crisis, from the US Department of State, Office of the Historian. Official State Department documents related to the Cuban Missile Crisis.
  • G. Robert Vincent Voice Library Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
    "A collection of over 40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 100,000 persons from all walks of life."
  • Geologic Atlas of the United States
    The Texas A&M University Libraries provides online access to the U.S. Geological Survey, 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945.
  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum
    Includes both textual, audio, video and artifact collections related to the Ford era.
  • GovPulse
    Searchable, browseable access to the Federal Register (proposed and final agency rules and regulations).
  • Grateful Dead Archive Online
    From the University of California Santa Cruz Library et al.
  • Great American Business Leaders of the Twentieth Century
    From Harvard School, a database to "identify and chronicle the lives of 20th century men and women whose business leadership shaped the ways that people live, work, and interact. "
  • Historical Census Browser
    “In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. In a few cases, the census data were augmented with information from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Council of Churches of Christ.”
  • History News Network – from George Mason University
    "The concept behind HNN is simple: We provide historians with a national platform so that they can help shape public debates about vital issues in the news. Every Monday we feature a dozen new articles on the latest news and trends. In our ten years we have published more than 5,000 original articles. Most are written by PhDs."
  • Immigration to the US, 1789-1930
    “Immigration to the US, 1789-1930 is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard’s libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. For Internet users worldwide, Immigration to the US provides unparalleled, free and open digital access to a significant selection of unique source materials—more than 410,000 pages, 100 individually cataloged maps, and 7,800 photographs.”
  • Iraq and Afghanistan War Veterans Oral History Project
    From the University Of Utah's American West Center: "Our objective is to provide marines, soldiers, sailors, and Air Force personnel the opportunity to recount their service in these two conflicts while their memories are still relatively recent. Rather than focusing on tactical matters – the staple of the oral histories of these two conflicts taken by the military – we asked soldiers to reflect on the social and cultural dimensions of their time in uniform. The preponderance of interviews we’ve taken to date focus on the initial years of the Iraq war. We look forward to partnering with other men and women who have served in uniform to record their experience of other periods and aspects of these incredibly important conflicts."
  • JFK Presidential Library and Museum – Digital Archives
    The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum collects, preserves, and makes available primary-source materials, in all formats, pertaining to the life and times of John F. Kennedy, the 35th President of the United States. The Library’s holdings include the papers of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Joseph P. Kennedy, and Rose Kennedy, as well as close to 400 other collections: those of Kennedy family members, Kennedy administration officials and associates, and pertinent individuals, authors, and institutions.
  • JURIST – The Chicago Seven
    1969-70 trial of seven radicals accused of conspiring to incite a riot at the 1968 Democratic National Convention in Chicago.
  • Kappler’s Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
    Digitally reproduced seven volume compilation of US Treaties, laws and executive orders relating to Native American tribes; an invaluable source for research on Native American history. Also check out other history sites at Oklahoma State U.
  • Labor and Workplace Studies
    "The University of Maryland (UMD) Libraries is home to numerous special collections  holdings that relate to Labor in America.  The collections consist of international labor unions as well as Maryland-related labor movements and issues. The digital surrogates within Labor in America not only document specific labor unions, such as the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America (UBCJA) and the Cigar Makers International Union, they also illustrate how labor and labor movements developed in North America from the colonial times to the present day."
  • Library – Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
    Provides full text access to a selection of intelligence documents. The Historical Collection and Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room contain historical documents.
  • Lincolniana at Brown
    Digitized materials from the Lincoln collection at Brown University
  • McCarthy Hearings 1953-54
    "S. Prt. 107-84 -- Executive Sessions of the Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations of the Committee on Government Operations (McCarthy Hearings 1953-54).  Closed according to Senate rules for 50 years, these hearings are now available to researchers and the public. This five-volume collection of Senate hearings is available online (in PDF format).  Volumes 1-4 cover the 1953 hearings, and 1954 hearings are found in volume 5."
  • National Security Archive
    “An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. “
  • NixonTapes.org Unrestricted Resource
    The site is a comprehensive and user-friendly collection of the secretly-recorded tapes made by President Richard Nixon between 1971 and 1973. The site currently offers all of the recordings that have been de-classified and released by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Transcriptions for many of the tapes are available, enabling the user to both listen and read the conversations at the same time.
  • Office of the Historian, Department of State
    Historical documents and history of the Department of State.
  • Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
    Early War Department papers lost due to fire have been reassembled by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Invaluable source materials for research.
  • Political Graveyard: Search
    “A database of political history and cemeteries, with brief biographical entries for 224,230 U.S. political figures, living and dead, from the 1700s to the present.”
  • Pop History Dig
    “A collection of short stories about popular culture – its history, its people, and its power.”
  • Presidential Libraries
    Scroll down to find online access to Presidential Libraries.
  • Provenance in the World War II Era, 1933-1946 — Smithsonian Museums
    Information about the provenance of Smithsonian artifacts and about how to do provenance research.
  • Scotusblog -Supreme Court of the United States Blog
    Official blog of the United States Supreme Court
  • Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
    The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive’s collection focuses on American politics and history with special attention paid to the American presidency.
  • SHARP: Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing
    "The Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing was founded to create a global network for book historians working in a broad range of scholarly disciplines."
  • Special Committee on Un-American Activities (1938-1944)
    "These are the records of the hearings of the Dies Committee, set up by the US House of Representatives to monitor "Un-American activities" and foreign propaganda before and during the Second World War....The records ran to 17 volumes of testimonial hearings, plus 7 volumes of executive hearings, plus various appendixes. Below, we have links to most of the volumes, mostly at the Internet Archive, but some at other locations. For each volume, we show the dates of the hearings. There may be some date overlap between volumes in some cases."
  • Theodore Roosevelt Center at Dickinson State University
    "Creating a presidential digital library that will serve as a repository for all Roosevelt-related documents, photographs, and ephemera, providing instant access via the internet in a well-organized, comprehensible manner. “
  • Union Membership and Coverage Database from the CPS
    "The Union Membership and Coverage Database, available at www.unionstats.com, is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the monthly household Current Population Survey (CPS) using BLS methods.  Economy-wide estimates are provided beginning in 1973; estimates by state, detailed industry, and detailed occupation begin in 1983; and estimates by metropolitan area begin in 1986.  The Database, constructed by Barry Hirsch (Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, Georgia State University) and David Macpherson (Department of Economics, Trinity University), was created in 2002 and is updated annually."
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set Inventory
    What libraries have which volumes of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set?
  • USDA Census of Agriculture Historical Archive
    This site is an archive of Agricultural census publications published prior to 1987.
  • Venona Papers - Dated
    Decryption of "message traffic comprised (of) an unsorted collection of thousands of Soviet diplomatic telegrams that had been sent from Moscow to certain of its diplomatic missions and from those missions to Moscow" covering the period 1940-1951 (with undated documents as well). The NSA released these decrypted, translated documents over several years, ending in 1997. 
  • Veterans History Project
    The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans.
  • Vietnam Center and Archive, Texas Tech University
    Digitized collections and oral histories, as well as subject guides and FAQs.
  • Wilson Center Programs
    Find analysis and primary sources on a variety of topics, including the Cold War, Congress, Urban Studies, North Korea, Global Health and Energy, and more.
  • Women Working, 1800-1930
    “Women Working is a digital exploration of women’s impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University." Digitized pages and images, manuscripts and personal papers, institutional record; cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and photographs.”
American History by Region
  • Brooklyn Historical Society
    Archives and Special Collections at the Brooklyn Historical Society. Many collections are digitized and browseable by subject.
  • Calisphere – A World of Digital Resources
    Documents related to California history. From the University of California.
  • City Mayors – Mayors Running the World’s Cities
    News and information site from the City Mayors Foundation.
  • Digital Library of Appalachia
    The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to “the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region.”
  • Digital Library of South Dakota
    "The Digital Library of South Dakota (DLSD) is a collaboration of the libraries of the six Board of Regents colleges and universities as well as partners in the state of South Dakota."
  • Documenting the American South
    DocSouth provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. From the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  • Encyclopedia of Cleveland History
    A joint effort by Case Western Reserve University and the Western Reserve Historical Society.
  • Encyclopedia of Greater Philadelphia
    "The Encyclopedia of Greater Philadelphia is a civic project to increase understanding of one of America’s greatest cities. The Encyclopedia as a digital resource and print volume will offer the most comprehensive, authoritative reference source ever created for the Philadelphia region."
  • Encyclopedia Virginia
    A publication of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities.
  • Free at Last? Slavery in Pittsburgh in the 18th and 19th Centuries
    From the University of Pittsburgh, based on the exhibition created by Robert Hill and exhibited at the Heinz History Center from October 25, 2008 to April 5, 2009.
  • Kansas Memory
    "Primary sources online from the Kansas Historical Society"
  • Kentucky Digital Library
    "The Kentuckiana Digital Library is built to enhance scholarship, research and lifelong learning through the establishment of access to shared digital archival collections in the state of Kentucky."
  • LOUISiana Digital Library
    "The LOUISiana Digital Library (LDL) is an online library of Louisiana institutions that provides over 144,000 digital materials. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from the Louisiana institution's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories in the state electronically accessible to Louisiana residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries."
  • Lowcountry Digital Library
    “Primary sources from private and educational/cultural institutions focused on South Carolina history and culture.”
  • National League of Cities
    “The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. Working in partnership with the 49 state municipal leagues, NLC serves as a resource to and an advocate for the more than 19,000 cities, villages and towns it represents.”
  • New Jersey by the Numbers
    From the Star Ledger. Covers topics such as public payrolls, property taxes, education, crime, elections and more.
  • New Jersey Information – From NJ State Library
    N.J. Digital Collections, N.J. Genealogy, N.J. Legal Resources, N.J. Newspapers, N.J. Searchable Publications, N.J. State Databases, N.J. by Topic, State of New Jersey Website
  • New Jersey State Archives: Imaged Collections
  • New York City Municipal Archives Online
    "Welcome to the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 870,000 images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time. "
  • New York Heritage
    NewYorkHeritage.org is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and others who are interested in the Empire State’s history.
  • NYPL Digital Collections
    Worldwide collection of digitized images from NYPL. Medieval Manuscripts, Scientific/Botanical/Engineering, Africana and Black History, Americana, the Middle East, Cars & Trucks, Native American portraiture, Postcards, Theatre, Sports, Hebrew manuscripts, Interior Design, Baseball, early photos of Asia and the Pacific Rim, Maps, Civil War Medical care and many more
  • Pittsburgh and Beyond: The Experience of the Jewish Community
    "National Council of Jewish Women Oral History Collection at the University of Pittsburgh."
  • Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
    Digitized texts of “more than one hundred years of [4] Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh” (1895-1975).
  • Rutgers Oral History Archives
    The Rutgers Oral History Archives records the personal narratives of: ·         Men and women (either New Jersey residents and/or Rutgers University alumni, faculty or staff) who served on the home front and overseas during World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Cold War and the nation's most recent conflicts ·         People with a story to tell about some aspect of New Jersey's proud history, its towns and cities, its diverse populations, organizations within the Garden State and/or social/cultural movements and events ·         Men and women who helped shape the history of Rutgers University as students, alumni, faculty, staff and in other roles
  • Utah American Indian Digital Archive
    "The Utah American Indian Digital Archive (UAIDA) is a gateway to the best resources regarding Utah’s Indian tribes. With articles, books, government documents, tribal documents, oral histories, photographs, and maps pertaining to the Northwestern Shoshone, Goshute, Paiute, Utah Navajo, White Mesa, and Ute Indians, this unique archive captures the complicated history of Utah’s tribes from multiple perspectives. The project, which stems from forty years of research conducted by the University of Utah’s American West Center on behalf of Utah’s Indians, offers tribal members, students, and researchers unprecedented access to information about the rich history and culture of Utah’s native peoples."
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: