Mathematics

All Items by Source

Finding Articles

MathSciNet Restricted Resource
Provides full text access, 1940-present, of Mathematical Reviews and bibliographic data in Current Mathematical Publications.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
Useful for doing interdisciplinary text searches across a lot of

Full Text Articles

ArXiv.org E-print Archive Some full text available
Searchable collection of over half a million open access e-prints in math & computer science, statistics, physics, and quantitative biology.
EuDML: The European Digital Mathematics Library
Search and retrieve a wide variety of mathematical articles online from European journals. By policy, all content in the database must be scientifically validated and must eventually be open access. Registration is not required to use, but is free and provides additional linking and tracking options.
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Dictionaries

Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics Restricted Resource Some full text available
2008 dictionary on all branches of pure and applied mathematics. Includes 200 biographical entries. ( In Credo Reference )

Organizations

AMS: American Mathematical Society
Links to Mathematics journals, bibliographies, listservs, government resources, career information, and other general resources.

MAA: Mathematical Association of America
Focuses on mathematics done in undergraduate institutions. Read online journals, news and features, professional development information, and about programs, meetings and employment information.

SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Features journals online, recently posted articles, activity groups, and information on careers and educational opportunities for mathematics students. Applied mathematics is the focus.

Web Sites

AMS Digital Mathematics Registry: Journal List
List of mathematics journals that are available online worldwide. Items marked with a Globe are freely available/downloadable.

Calculus Animations
Mathcad 14 animations of calculus learning/teaching demonstrations, in AVI format (use Windows Media, RealAudio, or QuickTime), submitted by math faculty and teachers

College Math Resources
Subject-faceted list of unique material, directed toward first- and second-year college students. It covers precalculus, calculus, and some differential equations, supplements to the textbooks.

note: Use the pull down menu to narrow to your area of interest, then click “Get Results” to see a list of links.
EqWorld: The World of Mathematical Equations
This site contains methods and exact solutions for a multitude of mathematical equations, including algebraic, differential, partial differential, integral, and functional equations

Khan Academy
Short video tutorials of math (including algebra and calculus), biology, chemistry, physics.

note: Choose "Browse our Library" to find resources.
lanl.arXiv.org e-Print archive mirror
Open access to 865,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics, owned and funded by Cornell University with partial funding from NSF.

MAA Distinguished Lecture Series – Past Lectures
Online notes, transcripts and audio of lectures from the Mathematical Association of America’s Distinguished Lecture Series. Mathematicians discuss current trends in Mathematics in a way that is accessible to the average listener. Transcripts are by MAA staff, but listening to the lectures is a much more accurate way of getting the gist.

MAA Online: Classroom Capsules and Notes
Classroom materials for the teaching of undergraduate mathematics, classified by title, author, subject, keywords & relevant course. From the Mathematical Association of America.

Martindale’s Calculators On-Line Center / Mathematics Center
“Calculators, Applets, Spreadsheets, and where Applicable includes: Courses, Manuals, Handbooks, Simulations, Animations, Videos/Movies, etc.”

Math Forum @ Drexel University
Information and resources for K-16 math teachers from Drexel University, with partial funding from NSF.

Math on the Web
A guide and directory to web-available resources in Mathematics, produced by the American Mathematics Society.

Mathematical Atlas: A Gateway to Modern Mathematics
Organized according to the Mathematics Subject Classification devised by the AMS. Each division of the classification has introduction, list of subdivisions, bibliography of general works on the subject, selected Web sites with hotlinks, and hotlinks to related sites.

MathVids
Free math instructional videos (though extra features require subscription & video ads play before the videos-- download the video to skip the ad), submitted by math faculty and teachers.

MIT OpenCourseware: Mathematics
Lecture notes, online lectures, problem sets, and practice tests for many levels of undergraduate mathematics. Developed and open-source released by MIT.
S.O.S. MATHematics
Provides refreshers on higher mathematical concepts from algebra to differential equations
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Single Variable Calculus: MIT OpenCourseware
Free online version of MIT’s calculus course. Look at Video Lectures, lecture notes, problem sets, practice exams.

TechXtra: Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing
Math and computer science articles, books, websites, industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, research, theses & dissertations, teaching and learning resources.

Trailblazing: Three and a half centuries of Royal Society Publishing
A selection of historically significant papers by (mostly) famous scientists. Use the Timeline or Download the PDF and use the “find” function to search by scientist or keyword. 

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675