Medical Humanities

All Items by Source

Finding Articles

Business Source Elite Restricted Resource
Business database useful for management and leadership studies.
CINAHL (Combined Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes nursing and allied health journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, practice guidelines and clinical trials.
( Some Links to full text )
Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
MEDLINE Restricted Resource
MEDLINE® (1950-present)The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.  Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.  Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles
Pharmaceutical News Index Restricted Resource

Indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

Subject coverage

  • Pharmacology
  • Healthcare research
  • Development
  • Regulatory issues

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles related to health care, medicine, nursing, dentistry and veterinary medicine.
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines clinical research titles with additional consumer and health administration titles. Covers full text and indexing in major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
Proquest Health Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 800 journals and 4,500+ Doctoral Dissertations and Theses in the  field of health administration, covering Health administration, Health professions, Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business, Management, Personnel, Ethics.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 700+ journals and dissertations, plus some journals indexed only, covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, including Cytology, Nutrition, Oncology, Pediatric Care, Pharmacology, Public Health, Radiology.
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Magazine, online, 1997-present.

Newspapers

New York Times Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text/page images for the New York Times, 1851 – 2007.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Handbooks & Guides

Merck Manual (Online)
An online medical reference with two options for content delivery: (1) a professional version that provides more advanced information for healthcare professionals and students or (2) a consumer version that offers easier-to-interpret content for readers who may be patients or caregivers. The professional version segments information into "Medical Topics", "Drug Information", "News & Commentary", "Procedures & Exams", and more. Topics are often covered in brief, usually with links to the supporting scholarly research in peer-reviewed journals that require a subscription.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Print Location: Counter RC55 .M4 2006
18th Edition, 2006 print version. Now available online with continuous updates at www.merckmanuals.com/professional.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
( For advanced functionality, register and login. )

Web Sites

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Websites
Ethics

General Reference
  • Medline Plus Unrestricted Resource
    Health topics, drug information, medical dictionaries and directories and links to organizations, publications, and consumer health libraries. From the National Library of Medicine.
 

Government information
  • Disability.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
 
  • HealthFinder.Gov Unrestricted Resource
    Free access to reliable information for health care consumers. Health library and health information related to gender, race, and ethnicity; also specialized resources for health care workers and people with disabilities. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
 
  • Science.gov Unrestricted Resource
    A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

Healthcare information
  • CSHP – Internet Resource List Unrestricted Resource
    The Center for State Health Policy at Rutgers University has recently launched this web site which contains an extensive, annotated list of links to health policy-related sites in New Jersey as well as nationally.
   
Historical information  
  • IndexCat – National Library of Medicine Unrestricted Resource
    IndexCat is a searchable digitized version of the Index-Catalog of the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office covering History of Medicine from antiquity to the 1950s.
 
Human Health and Well Being
  • A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource
    Containing 4000 entries on diseases, symptoms, tests and surgeries and includes illustrations, this reference is from A.D.A.M., a company accredited by the American Accreditation HealthCare Commission and is also available in Spanish.
 
  • CAM on PubMed Unrestricted Resource
    By the NIH, Office of Alternative Medicine, this source indexes information in 7 fields of alternative and complementary medicine.
   
  • Genetics Home Reference Unrestricted Resource
    Information on genetic variations in humans that affect health. From the National Library of Medicine.

Media Resources
  • Illness Narrative/Pathography Unrestricted Resource
    Lists and short reviews of illness narratives in various forms: art, film, literature. NYU’s Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database.
 
  • Medical Heritage Library Unrestricted Resource
    A subset of the Internet Archive, this collection can be browsed or searched, by subject, author, or date for its digitized content of digitized documents and films. For books, open the viewer in the left column to see the text.
 
  • Royal Society Picture Library Unrestricted Resource
    Online database of digital images of paintings, drawings and prints held in the collections of the Royal Society, UK. “Drawings, sketches and paintings from the Royal Society’s archive collections, including botanical studies, microscopical observations, anatomical drawings, engineering plans, travel documentary photography…Images of rare published plates from the16th to 19th century, hand-picked from our extensive library of printed books and journals.”

Medical information
  •  
Merck Manual (Online) Unrestricted Resource
An online medical reference with two options for content delivery: (1) a professional version that provides more advanced information for healthcare professionals and students or (2) a consumer version that offers easier-to-interpret content for readers who may be patients or caregivers. The professional version segments information into "Medical Topics", "Drug Information", "News & Commentary", "Procedures & Exams", and more. Topics are often covered in brief, usually with links to the supporting scholarly research in peer-reviewed journals that require a subscription.
  •  
Pharmaceutical information
Student Resources
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog:
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.