Medieval Studies

All Items by Source

Background

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Print Location: REF D114 .D5
The classic encyclopedia of medieval studies  Took 20+ years to complete.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford encyclopedia covering the 5th to the 15th century.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Print Location: REF CB361 .E52

Encyclopedia of women in the Renaissance : Italy, France, and England
Print Location: REF HQ1148 .W67

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, 2004.
Print Location: Reference GT 31.G74 2004
volume 2: The Medieval World
Medieval England : an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DA129 .M43

Medieval folklore : an encyclopedia of myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs
Print Location: REF GR35 .M43

Medieval Ireland : an encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref DA933 .M43
Seán Duffy, editor ; associate editors, Ailbhe MacShamhráin, James Moynes. New York : Routledge, 2005.
Medieval Italy : an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DG443 .M43

Medieval Jewish Civilization: an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF DS124 .M386

New Cambridge Medieval History
Print Location: REF D117 .N48

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource
Reference work for art; includes Grove Art Online; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and others.
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Print Location: REF CB361 .C27

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online music reference work. Includes Grove Music Online; Oxford Dictionary of Music; Oxford Companion to Music, etc.
The Crusades: an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF D155 .C78

Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages : an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF HF1001 .T7

Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF HQ1143 .W643

Finding Articles

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.
EBSCO Cross-Database Search Restricted Resource
Search most of the databases the library gets through EBSCO. Does not include all databases. Results may be excessively high (or weirdly low)– use with caution.
General Religion Search Restricted Resource
Search ATLA, Old Testament Abstracts, New Testament Abstracts, and Index Islamicus with one search.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
International Medieval Bibliography Online Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly articles, essays and reviews published from 1967 to the present on the Middle Ages, from a variety of disciplines.
(Click ENTER DATABASES button on main page)
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Medieval Archaeology
The first fifty volumes of the journal Medieval Archaeology have been made available online, by the Archaeology Data Service.

Index/Search Tool

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields, 1940-present.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine : an encyclopedia
Print Location: REF Q124.97 .M43

Atlases

Atlas of the Medieval World
Print Location: REF D117 .M35

Bibliographies

AATA Online: Abstracts of Conservation Literature
A specialized database focusing on Archaeology, art, material culture, technology and artifacts, and conservation. (Free website; Requires free registration.)
Worldcat Restricted Resource
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org

Encyclopedias

Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
Locate reliable information on Medieval art and architecture, and develop connections between different styles, periods, and locales.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
( For advanced functionality, register and login. )

Primary Sources

Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is the searchable electronic text version of the massive, printed set also called Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH), a collection of primary materials for the study of the European Middle Ages. The e-MGH includes selected portions of the printed set.
note: cancelled 2016

Web Sites

Archaeology Data Service
ArchSearch searches over a million archaeology records; Archives searches journals (including vols 1-50 of Medieval Archaeology full text), grey literature, websites, etc.; and under Teaching and Learning you can find items such as the Archaeology Image Data Bank.
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
Search for online digitized medieval manuscripts by title, location, author, shelfmark, etc. Updating ceased in 2013.
CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts
Searchable online textbase consisting of over 1000 contemporary and historical documents relating to Irish history, culture and literature. Based at University College Cork.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles and essays on women in the Middle Ages.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Online medieval and medieval related texts, divided by category. J. Halsall, editor.
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Resources for Medieval Studies. Another huge set of links. Especially good on Islamic materials. Sponsored by Georgetown University.
Medieval and Early Modern Manuscripts
Digitized versions of medieval manuscripts from the Henry Ransom Center at the University of Texas.
Medieval | European History Primary Sources
Links to Primary Sources in Medieval History
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
This huge gateway offers classified, searchable, and random access to a vast array of sources on all areas of Medieval studies, including many scholarly and bibliographic sites.
OEN Bibliography Database
The Old English Newsletter Database serves as an index to scholarly material in Anglo-Saxon studies. Free registration required.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
“The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization."
ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Full text of Medieval Studies related works and materials, textbook library, teaching resources, etc.
Primary Sources- Sondiata and Mansa Musa on the Web
Primary Sources on medieval West African History.
TMR: The Medieval Review
Reviews of books related to medieval history and literature.
Vivarium and OLIVER
Vivarium searches Hill Museum and Manuscript Library's online manuscript collection; OLIVER is a catalog of their manuscript holdings.
Go to Browse and choose Manuscripts or other collections to see what materials are available.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: