Music

All Items by Source

Core Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Abstracts of music literature.

Finding Articles

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text to scholarly and popular music journals, some as far back as 1874.
International Index to the Performing Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
IIPA covers all aspects of the performing arts from 1864 onward; some full text is available.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile Restricted Resource
 

Indexes to magazines and books of the 19th century (1800-1899), with some full text.


ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Abstracts of music literature.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

NAXOS Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Streaming music of many kinds from Classical to Third World and Gospel.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online music reference work. Includes Grove Music Online; Oxford Dictionary of Music; Oxford Companion to Music, etc.

Handbooks & Guides

IPA Source Restricted Resource
IPA Source is  the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.  

Web Sites

Hiphop Archive
“The Hiphop Archive organizes and develops collections, initiates and participates in research activities, sponsors events and acquires material culture associated with Hiphop in the U.S. and throughout the world.”
Bach Bibliography
Bibliography of citations dealing with the music of Bach, compiled by Yo Tomita, School of Music & Sonic Arts, Queen’s University Belfast with the generous assistance of Nobuaki Ebata and contributors.
Best Information on the Net: Music
Contains selected links on all types of music. By the library at St. Ambrose University.
Broadside Verses Collection – Enoch Pratt Free Library
“The Broadside Verses provide a unique look into life in 19th century America, especially life in Maryland between 1860 and 1865, when the country was in turmoil, and immediately after the Civil War. Most of these verses have a political message, but others – advertisements, love songs, temperance songs, ballads about life and death – show what life was like for Marylanders and other Americans after the Civil War, providing insight into the American character and personality.”
Ethnomusicology – World Music – UW library
List with sections on organizations and institutions, publications, recordings, and sites by geographical region. From University of Washington Libraries; some material restricted to UW users.
IMSLP: Petrucci Music Library
The IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library is a wiki with the goal of creating a complete virtual library of all scores in the public domain. Not recommended for current research, but useful for a quick lookup, it has over 79,000 scores as of Dec. 2010. It includes works in the public domain as well as works by composers willing to share their music at no charge.
Internet Archive
3 million out of copyright texts, music, video and more!
Library of Congress: Music Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to digitized collections (audio and print) as well as information resources on musical topics provided by the U.S. Library of Congress.
Voice of the Shuttle: Music
Includes general music sites as well as resources for the study of music by period, music theory and computer music. By Allan Liu, University of California – Santa Barbara.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Guy Dobson

Guy Dobson
Systems Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 2018873355

Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: