Neuroscience

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Finding Articles

Biological Abstracts Restricted Resource
Citations from over 4200 journals in biology and the life sciences, 1969-present.
MEDLINE Restricted Resource
MEDLINE® (1950-present)The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.  Explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science.  Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers; link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles
Pharmaceutical News Index Restricted Resource

Indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.

Subject coverage

  • Pharmacology
  • Healthcare research
  • Development
  • Regulatory issues

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles related to health care, medicine, nursing, dentistry and veterinary medicine.
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Proquest Biology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Just under 400 Biology journal titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines clinical research titles with additional consumer and health administration titles. Covers full text and indexing in major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
Proquest Health Management Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 800 journals and 4,500+ Doctoral Dissertations and Theses in the  field of health administration, covering Health administration, Health professions, Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business, Management, Personnel, Ethics.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 700+ journals and dissertations, plus some journals indexed only, covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, including Cytology, Nutrition, Oncology, Pediatric Care, Pharmacology, Public Health, Radiology.
Proquest Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
1,145+ journals in science —  965+ full text. 1986-.
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Magazine, online, 1997-present.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Index/Search Tool

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
 

SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties. 

(Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 


note: Drew users only. Must register for SciFinder Account: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=AD704F6A-86F3-5055-1F7B-CD47B3C216E5

Images

Allen Brain Atlas
An interactive, genome-wide image database of gene expression, with extensive information on the mouse brain. A combination of RNA in situ hybridization data, detailed reference atlases, and informatics analysis tools are integrated to provide a searchable digital atlas of gene expression. Non profit organization initially funded by Paul Allen.
ARRS Goldminer
Access to close to 500,000 biomedical images published in over 700 selected peer-reviewed journals. Searchable by findings, anatomy, imaging technique, and patient age and sex. From the  American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS), a non-profit medical professional organization.
BrainMaps.org
An interactive brain atlas based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains. Images are searchable. From the Center for Neuroscience, University of California-Davis.
Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections
Images of, and information about well-preserved, sectioned and stained brains of mammals.  Photographs of brains from over 100 different species of mammals can be viewed and downloaded . Also available are examples of stained sections from a wide variety of brains of special interest, including humans, chimpanzees, monkeys, and more.  From the Department of Physiology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan State University, the National Museum of Health and Medicine, and other contributing scientists.
Lab of Neuro Imagery (UCLA)
Home of the
(IDA), a user-friendly environment for archiving, searching, sharing, tracking and disseminating neuroimaging and related clinical data. From the Division of Brain Mapping in the Neuropsychiatric Institute at UCLA.
Photojournal: NASA's Image Access Home Page.
Provides search access to the Planetary Image Archive of NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory where images from past NASA exploration programs are stored and updated daily. Other searchable information includes the mission, spacecraft, or instrument. Select images of Earth depict geological and envrionmental changes dues to various factors. From National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
Whole Brain Atlas
An introduction to basic neuroanatomy, with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases.  Includes MR and SPECT (single photon emission computed tomography) images of the brain with select  afflictions, e.g. stroke, Alzheimer’s disease, and more.  From the Departments of Radiology and Neurology at Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, the Countway Library of Medicine, and the American Academy of Neurology.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
News from Science Magazine

Loading ...

Websites, topics A-K
Clinical research
  • Clinical Trials.gov Unrestricted Resource
    Site provides access to information on clinical studies involving human volunteers experiencing a wide range of diseases and conditions. Study results are provided by the lead person and are  updated during, or at the conclusion of the trial. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

General neuroscience
  • HHMI's BioInteractive Unrestricted Resource
    The “Biointeractive” part of HHMI website provides resources for students (and instructors) on a range of medical topics, but specifically on the brain and neuroscience.  Searchable by topic, subtopic, type of resource, and series.  A virtual Lab on neurophysiology (located under topic: neuroscience, type: virtual lab) offers an opportunity to experience basic neuroscience research by following outlined procedures and by using “tools” for dissecting, observing, and collecting neurophysiological data from a leech.  From the the nonprofit research foundation, Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI).
  • NeuronDB Unrestricted Resource
    A searchable database of 3 types of neuronal properties: voltage gated conductances, neurotransmitter receptors, and neurotransmitter substances. Tutorial for searching neuron properties available. From the Yale School of Medicine, Department of Neurobiology.
  • Neuroscience Information Framework Unrestricted Resource
    Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Health and Human Services, and NIH Blueprint, this site offers neuroscience specific searching of primary literature (with links to full text when available), websites, and the hidden web.
  • SenseLab Unrestricted Resource
    Contains six (6) related databases that support experimental & theoretical research on the membrane properties that mediate information processing in nerve cells, using the olfactory pathway as a model system.  All six databases have the same structure, which allows continuous navigation between them. From the National Institute for Deafness and other Communication Disorders, Yale University.
  • Synapse Web Unrestricted Resource
    Information on the structural basis of synaptic function. Includes an atlas of ultrastructural neurocytology, images of brain structures and cells, tutorials, and tools for analysis and 3-D reconstruction of structures from serial sections.  From the Center for Learning and Memory,  the University of Texas at Austin.

General reference​
  • ENTREZ (NCBI) Unrestricted Resource
    Global cross-database search page that includes databases: PubMed, OMIM, OMIA, PubChem, Nucleotide, Protein, Genome, Structure, singlenucleotide polymorphism, UniGene, conserved protein domain databases, UniSTS, Cancer Chromosomes, Genome Project, and more. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), part of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Websites, topics L-Z
Lab materials
  • HHMI's BioInteractive Unrestricted Resource
    The “Biointeractive” part of HHMI website provides resources for students (and instructors) on a range of medical topics, but specifically on the brain and neuroscience.  Searchable by topic, subtopic, type of resource, and series.  A virtual Lab on neurophysiology (located under topic: neuroscience, type: virtual lab) offers an opportunity to experience basic neuroscience research by following outlined procedures and by using “tools” for dissecting, observing, and collecting neurophysiological data from a leech.  From the the nonprofit research foundation, Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI).

Medical subects
  • A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource
    Containing 4000 entries on diseases, symptoms, tests and surgeries and includes illustrations, this reference is from A.D.A.M., a company accredited by the American Accreditation HealthCare Commission and is also available in Spanish. 
  • Medline Plus Unrestricted Resource
    Health topics, drug information, medical dictionaries and directories and links to organizations, publications, and consumer health libraries. From the National Library of Medicine. 
  • National Library of Medicine- Health Information Unrestricted Resource
    Link to MEDLINE, MEDLINEplus and research resources for information on AIDS, cancer, bioethics, the history of medicine, mental health disorders, and more. 

Student resources