News

All Items by Source

Newspapers

ABI-Inform Restricted Resource Some full text available
Massive business and industry database, including full text of the Wall Street Journal.
America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
1690-1922 including Early American Newspapers Series 1, Series 2 and Series 3. Search full text & view scanned pages.
CBCA Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Canadian bibliographic full-text reference and current events database.  CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). 1,665+ titles indexed with 500+ periodicals and daily news sources full text.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
Infotrac Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of more than 1,000 newspapers.
Irish Newspaper Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
A complete digitization of Ireland’s newspaper heritage. Over 30  titles with dates ranging from 1738 to the present; fully keyword searchable.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.
New York Times Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text/page images for the New York Times, 1851 – 2007.
New York Times- Academic Pass Restricted Resource
The New York Times Academic Pass provides each Drew student, faculty and staff member an online subscription to the nytimes.com site, including 
full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps for any device, as well as their international editions. 

In addition, users can discover and share content on social networks, save articles, subscribe to email newsletters of areas of interest and receive news alerts, either on predefined topics or through a keyword search the user designates. Each registered user has unlimited archival access to all years before 1923 and after 1980, and five articles per day for the years 1923-1980. 
The “share” button allows you to post articles to your Moodle site.
Access is included to The Times’ latest iPhone® app, NYT Now, with a selection of top stories handpicked by editors, and "What We’re Reading", a new weekly guide to recommended reading on the web. 
note: To access an Academic Pass to NYTimes.com:
  1. Go to nytimes.com/passes
  2. Click on CREATE AN ACCOUNT and follow the instructions. You must register using your Drew University email address.  
  3. Look for an email from NYTimes.com, “Confirm Your E-Mail Address” and click on the link in the e-mail to finish the process.  (If you do not receive the confirmation email, check your spam folder.  If it not there, send an e-mail from your Drew University email address to edu@nytimes.com and ask us to confirm your eligibility.)
  4. Next, you will see a page that says, START YOUR ACCESS.  If you lose your full access for any reason, re-visit NYTimes.com/Passes  and log in with your Drew University email address. Go to NYTimes.com/Pass to claim a subsequent pass or check your account status anytime.
  5. You will have full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps  by logging into your NYTimes.com account from any location, on or off campus.
  6. Visit www.NYTimes.com/Mobile from an iPad, tablet or a smartphone's web browser to download and log into the NYT app
Proquest Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
1300+ newspapers, news websites and blogs, including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Supplements Business Source Elite, providing full text access to more than 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications)
United States Newspapers
Links to newspapers in all 50 states.
Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource
Wall Street Journal online with backfile from 1984 to present.
note: Use 'Search inside the publication' to locate what you want.
World News
World News (WN) Network searches and displays news from worldwide sources in over 50 languages

Directories

Columbia Journalism Review: Guide to Online News Startups
Profiles new online news resources. Searchable by keyword and sortable by location, business type, coverage type, etc.

Web Sites

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Some full text available
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Encyclo: An Encyclopedia of the Future of News
From the Nieman Journalism Lab, "an attempt to help journalism figure out its future in an Internet age….We aim to tell you about the most important drivers of journalism’s evolution."
EuroNews: The European News Channel
Website of a European News network.
Factcheck.org
Aims to “Hold politicians accountable” by checking the facts cited by and about politicicans. A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
Global Post
News from Around the World
IPS Inter Press Service
A ‘non-profit, international, non-governmental’ multilingual news service, focusing on “development, environment, human rights and civil society,” especially in poorer/less developed countries.
News & Periodical Resources on the Web
Service of the Library of Congress; online news & periodicals sources.
OnlineNewspapers.com
Links to online newspapers by country.
Pew Research Center
Pew Institute survey and polling information.
Roll Call
Political and Capitol Hill news from Congressional Quarterly.
RSAP Resources for Research: Periodicals
Looking for Native American or African American press publications? Try RASP. This site links to all sorts of odd, historical and alternative periodicals and newspapers. You’ll be surprised what you find.
Special Archive Collections
Collections of newspaper articles on specific topics available for free online. Generally NewspaperArchive.com searches across archives of multiple newspapers; there is a fee to view results.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480