DSEM: Reproduction in the 21st Century: Beyond the birds and the bees

Finding background information
Reference materials
Consult Drew Library's variety of reference sources, including online dictionaries, encyclopedias and other subject-relevant resources with a sample listed below:

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of Encyclopaedia Britannica, with links to recommended web sites.

Gosden, C. M. (2003). Genetics and the control of human reproduction. In D. Cooper, Encyclopedia of the human genome. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley. LINK HERE.

Greene, M. (2009). Choosing future people: Reproductive Technologies and identity. In V. Ravitsky, The Penn Center guide to bioethics. New York, NY: Springer Publishing Company. LINK HERE.‚Äč
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Finding Additional Information
Search Drew Library for additional scholarly sources

Scholar Search Restricted Resource
New Discovery  Service from EBSCO.  Searches for all library resources from a single search box. Limit, expand and customize your search. Think of it as  the Library's version of Google! 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.

Worldcat Restricted Resource
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
Finding Sources from a Citation
Academic works usually cite their sources, listing the articles, essays or books that the author has used in the development of the argument.  Where you will look for a source depends on the type of source it is:

Not sure what type of source you're looking for?  Here are some clues:

Books or essays in books generally have a place of publication listed, as well as a publisher:
Klein, Richard G. The Human Career: Human Biological and Cultural Origins. Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 2009. 

Journal or magazine articles have both a title of the article as well as the title of the journal/magazine.  They generally will have a volume number, and either an issue number or a more specific date than just a year:
Darwin and the recent African origin of modern humans. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 22 September 2009: 16007-16009.

 
Citation help
Electronic citation managment
EndnoteWeb Unrestricted Resource
Free software to help manage your bibliographic needs, inlcuding organizing sources and citations by project,  sharing citations for group work, and for "citing while you write", i.e. inserting citations into papers while writing.
(Beware: No citation software is perfect--check your work!)  Instructions for EndNote Web
  • Check HERE for upcoming EndNote Workshops at the Library.
Reference Books 
Lipson, Charles. Doing Honest Work in College: How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004. Print .PN171 .F56 L56 2004

Personal librarian
Margery Ashmun is your Personal Librarian - available for help with formatting your citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.

Drew's Center for Academic Excellence Unrestricted Resource
Get help with forming a thesis, structuring an argument, and all things related to writing a paper at the Center for Writing Excellence housed in the Center for Academic Excellence (CAE) on the main floor of the Library. The CAE also offers the Math and Science Resource Center, as well as individual peer subject tutoring ... Services are free to all Drew students, faculty, and staff. Make an appointment online at their webpage for one-on-one help. Go to link in title to find out more. (~Drew's website)

Drew University's plagiarism policy
Take time to familiarize yourself with Drew's policy on plagiarism.  CLICK HERE for a link to the "Academic Integrity" section of Drew's Student Handbook which contains a description of the plagiarism policy.
Questions?
Just ask! Margery Ashmun is your Personal Librarian - available for help in finding resources, selecting reliable sources of information, and formatting your citations.  For more information about the Personal Librarian program, check here.

Call

Email

Visit

Chat

Text

Margery Ashmun,

973-408-3483

 

Research Help Desk

973-408-3588

mashmun@drew.edu

 

reference@drew.edu

Make an appointment with Margery Ashmun or come to the Research Help desk in the Library when desk is staffed.

 

Research Help Hours:

9:00AM- 5:00PM, Monday-Friday;

6:00PM-10:00PM, Sunday-Thursday.

Use the chat message box on the

Research Resources page when the Research Help Desk is staffed.

Text:

973-241-5275 (973-241-5ASK)

when the Research Help Desk is staffed.