Philosophy

All Items by Source

Core Databases

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields, 1940-present.

Finding Articles

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields, 1940-present.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
SAGE online journals Restricted Resource
Online journal source.

Bibliographies

International Medieval Bibliography Online Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly articles, essays and reviews published from 1967 to the present on the Middle Ages, from a variety of disciplines.
(Click ENTER DATABASES button on main page)
L’Année Philologique Restricted Resource Some full text available
Large and very deep database covering many aspects of Classical Antiquity; sources are in several languages. No full text. Also useful for Bible and Ancient Christianity; covers ancient authors and modern interpretations.

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Print Location: Reference CB9 .D52 1973
Covers the history of classical western philosophy from the ancient world through the twentieth century.  Its index volume is a powerful tool for tracing the transmission of ideas between philosophers and connecting philosophers to ideas.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: Reference BL31 .E46 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Major reference work in religion and related subjects.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Ongoing, cooperative encyclopedia maintained by professional philosophers. Topics alphabetically arranged. Article authors are clearly identified.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Print Location: CB9 .N49 2005 Restricted Resource
"A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. "
Oxford Encyclopedia of Rhetoric Restricted Resource
Classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications on the art of persuasion.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 2,000 articles from the print version with new articles and updates.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Some full text available
The SEP is an online peer reviewed, peer edited academic encyclopedia of philosophy designed to allow updating and to have room for disagreement in controversial areas. Its initial coverage is not yet complete, but it is already a substantial work. Articles here are longer & more complex than the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy and include substantive bibliography. An international editorial board of professional philosophers referees all contributions.

Web Sites

EpistemeLinks
A gateway to philosophy sites, this one offers especially rich access to full text sources, retrievable by author, title, and subject searches. Maintained by Thomas Ryan Stone, a computer specialist with philosophy background.
John Locke Resources
"John Locke Resources is a gateway to information about the English philosopher John Locke (1632–1704) and to tools supporting scholarship on Locke."
Philosophy around the Web
Useful gateway, maintained with style and humor by Peter King, of Pembroke College (Oxford University), provides links to online reference tools, full text of primary sources, and other sites arranged by philosophical topic.
WGSSLinks Women and Philosophy Web Sites
Collection of resources serves as a gateway to feminist work in philosophy and to the professional community of women in philosophy. Includes major link for “Feminist Theory.” By the Women’s Studies Section of ACRL.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: