Physics

All Items by Source

Core Databases

Institute of Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selected full text access to recently published articles; full text access to articles back to 1996 for limited number of journals; full text access to selected open access journals; with other content available through inter-library loan
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
American Physical Society (APS) Physics
American Physical Society lists valuable links to web resources concerning Physics, such as Journals, Education, Forums, Career Development and a great deal more.
Institute of Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selected full text access to recently published articles; full text access to articles back to 1996 for limited number of journals; full text access to selected open access journals; with other content available through inter-library loan
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Full Text Articles

ArXiv.org E-print Archive Some full text available
Searchable collection of over half a million open access e-prints in math & computer science, statistics, physics, and quantitative biology.
Optical Society of America (OSA) Publishing
OSA Publishing (formerly Optics InfoBase) offers research about optics and photonics. The website interface provides users with features including full-text search and tools to refine content searches by date, publication and author. From the Optical Society, a professional society of optical engineers and scientists.
 
Proquest Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
1,145+ journals in science —  965+ full text. 1986-.
Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals Restricted Resource
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals in biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery, physics,chemistry and chemical engineering. Sample titles include: Green Chemistry, Molecular Biosystems,and Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics PCCP. Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Science Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Magazine, online, 1997-present.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Index/Search Tool

Google Scholar
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
Make sure Scholar Preferences are set to include Library Links from Drew to check subscription content availability; some collections, however, are not linked.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
 

SciFinder offers access to all of Chemical Abstracts (from 1907), including patents and CAS Registry numbers, as well as information on reactions and properties. 

(Drew users only. Go HERE to learn about how to register for SciFinder Account.) 


note: Drew users only. Must register for SciFinder Account: https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=AD704F6A-86F3-5055-1F7B-CD47B3C216E5

Journals/Magazines

NOVA's Physics Blog: The Nature of Reality.
Blog that combines short entries on current topics in physics, segmented by Gravity, Particle Physics, Quantum Physics, The Cosmos, Thought Experiments, and Unification, with links to additional information on NOVA’s website including short and full-length documentaries, links to other physics blogs, and a section entitled “Go Deeper” with the contributor’s recommendations for additional reading. From the nonprofit Public Broadcasting Service and WGBH Educational Foundation.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Handbooks & Guides

Merck Index, 14th edition
Print Location: Reference RS51 .M4 2006
Information on 12,000+ chemical compounds including organic chemicals, botanicals, cosmeceuticals, nutriceuticals, pharmaceuticals, natural products, dyes, traditional medicines.  Shows chemical and common names, empirical formula, structures for 8500 compounds, CAS registry numbers and citations to patent and chemical literature (usually first identification or synthesis info). Indexes by CAS registry number, empirical formula, common name, chemical name.  Print.

Images

Photojournal: NASA's Image Access Home Page.
Provides search access to the Planetary Image Archive of NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory where images from past NASA exploration programs are stored and updated daily. Other searchable information includes the mission, spacecraft, or instrument. Select images of Earth depict geological and envrionmental changes dues to various factors. From National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Organizations

American Physical Society (APS) Physics
American Physical Society lists valuable links to web resources concerning Physics, such as Journals, Education, Forums, Career Development and a great deal more.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Margery Ashmun

Margery Ashmun
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
News from Physics World

Loading ...

Top journals in Physics
Nature Materials
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 38.891
Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 37.846
Reviews of Modern Physics
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 33.177
Living Reviews in Relativity
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 32.000
Nature Photonics
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 31.167
Materials Science and Engineering: R: Reports
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 24.652
Living Reviews in Solar Physics
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 19.333
Advanced Materials
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 18.960
Nature Physics
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 18.791
Advances in Physics - many articles available full text in https://arxiv.org
  • 2015 Impact Factor: 18.000
Websites, topics A-F
Astonomy
  • Astrobiology Magazine Unrestricted Resource
    A NASA-sponsored “popular” online science magazine offering current topics in astrobiology. Content updated daily with topics ranging from solar system exploration. cosmic evolution, robotics, and more..  Features include multimedia content (podcasts, videos, images, etc) and “Astrocomics”.   
 
  • Google Sky Unrestricted Resource
    Locate positions of constellations and planets, view universe at different wavelengths, see historical drawings of constellations using this website that is the result of a collaboration among Google, NASA, and several other organizations.
 
  • NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) Unrestricted Resource
    Information rich site offering current news, mission details (past, present, and future), multi-media (video, podcasts, etc), and other useful information about the JPL, its work with NASA, and space exploration-related topics.  From the California Institute of Technology.
 
  • SpaceRef Unrestricted Resource
    Website offering time-saving search capability of aggregated space-related news. Current news and events , multimedia, and archived information dating back to 1990s available here.  From a privately-owned media company.

Current Trends and Research
  • European Council for Nuclear Research (CERN) Unrestricted Resource
    Resources for “students and educators” (lectures by CERN physicists; lesson plans & supplemental material for teaching particle physics) and scientists (updates, “latest experimental results”, and “theory papers”).  Information about particle accelerators, experiments, and general content about physics.  CERN is a joint venutre between 20 European member states, including Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.
   
Websites, topics G-Z
General Reference
  • Feynman Lectures on Physics Unrestricted Resource
    Supplementary info related to the book of the same name (found in the library at QC21.2 .F49 1989), including Errata, stories, exercises, web links and a discussion forum. 
  • lanl.arXiv.org e-Print archive mirror Unrestricted Resource
    Open access to 865,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics, owned and funded by Cornell University with partial funding from NSF.  
  • NIST Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopic Data Unrestricted Resource
    From the introduction: “a selection of the most important and frequently used atomic spectroscopic data in an easily accessible format.”

Government Information Industry News
Student Resources