Political Science

All Items by Source

Core Databases

Proquest Political Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 150 leading political science and international relations journals, especially those indexed in Worldwide Political Science.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on national and international topics in Political Science.

Background

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Political Glossaries: A Glossary of US Politics and Government Restricted Resource
This Glossary explains the key concepts, institutions, personalities, and events commonly referred to in the teaching of US politics and government.  ~from the publisher

Finding Articles

ABSEES Online Restricted Resource
Indexes articles, books, reviews, dissertations and government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Citations to publications worldwide related to the East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Columbia International Affairs Online CIAO Restricted Resource
An international public policy database with full text access to research from universities, NGO’s, foundations, conferences, maps, journals and books.
EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
Proquest Military Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
Large interdisciplinary database containing lots of psychology and neuroscience journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Scholarly, peer reviewed database focused on Sociological issues, many of which are relevant to Political Science research.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Scholarly, peer reviewed articles on national and international Political Science issues.

Index/Search Tool

CQ Researcher plus archive Restricted Resource
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Congressional Quarterly Almanac
Print Location: Ref JK1 .C66
Excellent resource for tracing legislation and major policy developments in the United States Congress from the mid 1950's onward.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of American Government and Politics. Restricted Resource
This Dictionary offers a look at US government and politics, explaining the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area. Terms are presented in an A-Z format with cross-referencing where appropriate. ~from the publisher

Directories

The Foundation Directory
Print Location: Ref Counter AS911.A2 F65 yr
This annual publication provides information on the nation's 10,000 largest grantmaking  foundations, in terms of awards made.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Indexes dissertations from 1861 forward; provides citations and abstracts for master’s theses from 1988 on. Full text of recent dissertations in social sciences and humanities.


Open Access Theses and Dissertations
"Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use."

Encyclopedias

CIA World Factbook
Annually updated, "information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States; organized around seven time periods that correspond to key eras in American history.

Government Information

Data.gov
“Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before.”
FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)
Proquest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexing and text of a variety of sources pertaining to US government, including many Congressional publications. Coverage extends back 7 to 20 years.

Statistics/Data

European Union Open Data Portal
"The European Union Open Data Portal is the single point of access to a growing range of data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union (EU). Data are free for you to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes."
ICPSR Direct Restricted Resource
Data sets in social sciences. ( You must create a MyData account to download data. )
Social Explorer Restricted Resource Resource contains images

Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.


Web Sites

HathiTrust
A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
Internet Archive
3 million out of copyright texts, music, video and more!
United Nations/European Union
  • DeStatis - Federal Statistical Office of Germany
    "Our mission is to provide and disseminate statistical information which has to be objective, independent and of high quality. Our federal statistics are available to everybody: politicians, authorities, businesses and citizens."
  • How to Cite United Nations Documents and Publications
    Quick guide to citing UN documents and publications, from NewsBank.
  • EUROPA – Economic and monetary affairs
    From the European Union. Access to official European Union policy and statistics.
  • European Commission - Public Opinion
    "This is the website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Since 1973, the European Commission has been monitoring the evolution of public opinion in the Member States, thus helping the preparation of texts, decision-making and the evaluation of its work. Our surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc."
  • European Policy Institutes Network
    "EPIN is a network of dynamic think tanks and policy institutes focusing on current EU and European political and policy debates. "
  • European Union Open Data Portal
    "The European Union Open Data Portal is the single point of access to a growing range of data from the institutions and other bodies of the European Union (EU). Data are free for you to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes."
  • European Union Internet Resources
    From the University of California Berkeley Library.
  • EuroStat
    All sorts of statistics about and from the European Union. Make your own data reports using their statistics database.
  • Measuring Worth
    "There are two missions of this site. The first is to make available to the public the highest quality and most reliable historical data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on "nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures. The data presented here on the United States, United Kingdom and Australia, have been created using the highest standards of the fields of economics and history, and they were rigorously refereed by the most distinguished researchers in the fields. The second is to provide carefully designed compartors (using these data) that explain the many issues involved in making value comparison over time."
  • Official Documents of the United Nations
    ODS covers all types of official UN documentation published since 1993, resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic & Social Council and Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. Also links to the old version of ODS, for those familiar with the UN documentation system.
  • Question of Palestine
    "The United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine (UNISPAL) was established and is being developed by the Division for Palestinian Rights in response to successive General Assembly mandates. The main collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace." 
  • UNBISnet
    "Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion."
  • UNdata
    A single entry point for UN statistical databases.
  • United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law
    The Audiovisual Library is a unique, multimedia resource which provides the United Nations with the unprecedented capacity to provide high quality international law training and research materials to an unlimited number of recipients on a global level. The Audiovisual Library consists of three pillars: (1) the Historic Archives containing documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) theLecture Series featuring a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) theResearch Libraryproviding an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. The Audiovisual Library is available to all individuals and institutions around the world for free via the Internet.
International topics
  • Africa Portal
    "Africa Portal is an online knowledge resource for policy-related issues on Africa."
  • AlertNet
    "We cover the world’s under-reported stories.We work with the best law firms to provide free legal assistance to NGOs and social entrepreneurs worldwide.We promote the highest standards of journalism around the world."
  • Angus Reid Public Opinion
    International polling data.
  • Anti Slavery International
    "Anti-Slavery International works at local, national and international levels to eliminate all forms of slavery around the world."
  • Arab spring: an interactive timeline of Middle East protests
    Arab and Middle East unrest, Arab spring: an interactive timeline of Middle East protests. Ever since a man in Tunisia burned himself to death in December 2010 in protest at his treatment by police, pro-democracy rebellions have erupted across the Middle East: interactive timeline traces key events.
  • Arabic Network For Human Rights Information
    Collects the publications, campaigns, reports, and statements of the various human rights organizations, so that the daily product of those organizations is available in one place, updated daily.
  • BBC News | Inside Europe
    Historical/organizational overview of the European Union. By BBC News. Offers time line of formation of the EU. Provides information on EU agencies, defines EU terminology, and features up to date discussions on relevant events and issues.
  • BIC - Bank Information Center
    "The Bank Information Center (BIC) partners with civil society in developing and transition countries to influence the World Bank and other international financial institutions (IFIs) to promote social and economic justice and ecological sustainability. BIC is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization that advocates for the protection of rights, participation, transparency, and public accountability in the governance and operations of the World Bank Group and regional development banks."
  • Business & Human Rights
    "Tracking the positive and negative impacts of over 5,100 companies worldwide"
  • Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research
    "The Human Rights Web Archive is an initiative by Columbia University Libraries and Information Services (CUL) and its Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research (CHRDR), with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, to select, preserve, and provide access to freely available internet resources, specifically addressing at-risk websites in the area of human rights. "
  • China Vitae
    "China Vitae is a resource of biographical information on more than 4000 Chinese leaders in government, politics, the military, education, business, and the media."
  • Comparative Constitutions Project
    "The intent of the project is to investigate the sources and consequences of constitutional choices. Towards this end, the investigators are collecting data on the formal characteristics of written constitutions, both current and historical, for most independent states since 1789. The data will ultimately be available in its entirety to the public."
  • Constitute - The Worlds Constitutions to Read, Search and Compare
    ".... Constitute includes the constitution that was in force in September of 2013 for nearly every independent state in the world. Certain countries whose constitutional order consists of multiple documents, or whose constitutions are in transition, are temporarily omitted. Soon we will include many of these cases as well as a version of every available constitution ever written since 1789."
  • Countries (EIA) with Country Analysis Briefs
    From the Energy Information Administration, specialized country and regional energy-related information and data
  • Delegation of the European Union to the United States
    "The European Union is a unique economic and political partnership among 28 diverse democracies united in their commitment to peace, democracy, the rule of law, and respect for human rights. It is represented in the United States by the Washington, DC Delegation of the European Union, a full-fledged diplomatic mission working in close coordination with the Embassies and Consulates of the 28 EU Member States."
  • DeStatis - Federal Statistical Office of Germany
    "Our mission is to provide and disseminate statistical information which has to be objective, independent and of high quality. Our federal statistics are available to everybody: politicians, authorities, businesses and citizens."
  • Digitized Afghanistan Materials in English
    From the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection.
  • Directory of Development Organizations.
    Comprehensive directory of development organizations: “(1) international organizations; (2) government institutions; (3) private sector support organizations (including fairtrade); (4) finance institutions; (5) training and research centres; (6) civil society organizations; (7) development consulting firms (including references to job opportunities and vacancy announcements); (8) information providers (development newsletters/journals); and, (9) grantmakers."
  • Eldis - from the Institute of Development Studies, UK
    "Welcome to the Eldis website. Our aim is to share the best in development policy, practice and research.  Browse the latest editorially selected content from over 7,500 development organisations - all available free to download. Share your work with over 80,000 development practitioners."
  • Empirical Studies of Conflict
    "The Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC) identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide." From Princeton University
  • ENCYCLOPÆDIA IRANICA
    "The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent."
  • EuroNews: The European News Channel
    Website of a European News network.
  • Everything International
    Global business and country resources.
  • Foreign Consular Offices in the United States
    "This publication contains a complete and official listing of the foreign consular offices in the United States, and recognized consular officers.  Compiled by the U.S. Department of State, with the full cooperation of the foreign missions in Washington..."
  • Gapminder: Unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view.
    Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries are web-services displaying time series of development statistics for all countries, "converting boring numbers into enjoyable, animated and interactive graphics."
  • Global Post
    News from Around the World
  • Global Slavery Index
    "The inaugural edition of the Global Slavery Index 2013 provides a ranking of 162 countries around the world, based on a combined measure of three factors: estimated prevalence of modern slavery by population, a measure of child marriage, and a measure of human trafficking in and out of a country.  The Index provides a quantitative ranking of 162 countries around the world according to the estimated prevalence of slavery, that is, the estimated percentage of enslaved people in the national population at a point in time.  The Index also provides an estimate of the size of the modern slavery problem, country by country."  From the Walk Free Foundation
  • The Global Think Tank Directory
    "The Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (TTCSP) at the Lauder Institute, University of Pennsylvania conducts research on the role policy institutes play in governments and in civil societies around the world."
  • Peace Terms: Glossary of Terms for Conflict Management and Peacebuilding
    From the United States Institute of  Peace.
  • Governments on the WWW
    "Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties."
  • Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online
    Digitized materials collected by the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System, specifically transcripts of interviews conducted with Soviet refugees.
  • Human Rights Web Archive
    "The Human Rights Web Archive is an initiative by Columbia University Libraries and Information Services (CUL) and its Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research (CHRDR), with support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, to select, preserve, and provide access to freely available internet resources, specifically addressing at-risk websites in the area of human rights. "
  • Human Security Report Project
    "The Human Security Report Project (HSRP) is an independent research centre affiliated with Simon Fraser University (SFU) in Vancouver, Canada. Formerly located at the University of British Columbia and known as the Human Security Centre, the HSRP joined SFU in May of 2007. The HSRP tracks global and regional trends in organized violence, their causes and consequences. Research findings and analyses are published in the Human Security Report, Human Security Briefseries, and the miniAtlas of Human Security. HSRP publications have received major coverage in the international media and are regularly cited by national governments, international agencies, and NGOs, as well as the research community. The HSRP also produces a range of online data, research, and news resources covering a broad range of global security issues. All publications are available free of charge."
  • HuriSearch
    "HuriSearch is a human rights search engine. It enables you to search the content of over 5000 websites. In total over ten million pages of human rights-specific web content!"
  • ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
    "The International Coalition on Newspapersis a coordinated multi-institutional effort to increase the availability of international newspaper collections by improving both bibliographic and physical access to global newspaper collections."
  • International Data Base - U.S. Census Bureau
    "The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. "
  • International Gay and Lesbian Human RightsCommission
    "The International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (IGLHRC) is a leading international organization dedicated to human rights advocacy on behalf of people who experience discrimination or abuse on the basis of their actual or perceived sexual orientation, gender identity or expression. "
  • International IDEA
    "SUPPORTING DEMOCRACY WORLDWIDE The International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance is an intergovernmental organization. Its programmes aim to: Provide knowledge to democracy builders Provide policy development and analysis Support democratic reform"
  • Making the History of 1989
    Documents the Fall of Communism in Eastern Europe.
  • Measuring Worth
    "There are two missions of this site. The first is to make available to the public the highest quality and most reliable historical data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on "nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures. The data presented here on the United States, United Kingdom and Australia, have been created using the highest standards of the fields of economics and history, and they were rigorously refereed by the most distinguished researchers in the fields. The second is to provide carefully designed compartors (using these data) that explain the many issues involved in making value comparison over time."
  • MetaLib Search
    Search across multiple government databases.
  • Minority Rights Group International
    News about threatened minority groups around the world. Includes the Peoples Under Threat survey
  • NGO Database
    From  Duke University Library - research  guide to NGOs.
  • NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
    "Since 1993, NIRA's Center for Policy Research has published NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks (NWDTT), which provides a systematic introduction to the world's most prominent and innovative public policy research institutes, better known as think tanks. NWDTT provides details of the organizational structures of these think tanks and research activities in which they engage, functioning as the "soft infrastructure" for a global network of think tanks."
  • Nuremberg Trial Project
    "The Harvard Law School Library ... documents relating to the trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal (IMT) and to the twelve trials of other accused war criminals before the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals (NMT)." Includes "trial transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers."
  • OFFSTATS Official Statistics on the Web
    "The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Some specialised databases are only available to the University of Auckland staff and students."
  • OnlineNewspapers.com
    Links to online newspapers by country.
  • Population Reference Bureau
    "The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations."
  • Savifa
    "Welcome to Savifa,  the information gateway for South Asia Studies! We offer you a comprehensive access to professionally selected and annotated internet resources as well as other scientific information."
  • SIPRI – Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
    Resources on global security.
  • Society at a Glance - OECD Social Indicators
    "How are OECD societies progressing? How effective are their actions in promoting social progress? Society at a Glance provides a basis for addressing these twin questions. It offers a concise overview of quantitative social trends and policies across the OECD."
  • Trove
    "Find and get over 362,321,532 Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more."
  • UCB Libraries/ Foreign Information by Country
    Great LibGuide from the University of Colorado Boulder for research on countries worldwide
  • University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
    Extensive guide to Human Rights.
  • Venona Papers - Dated
    Decryption of "message traffic comprised (of) an unsorted collection of thousands of Soviet diplomatic telegrams that had been sent from Moscow to certain of its diplomatic missions and from those missions to Moscow" covering the period 1940-1951 (with undated documents as well). The NSA released these decrypted, translated documents over several years, ending in 1997. 
  • ViFaOst: Virtual Library Eastern Europe
    "ViFaOst is an interdisciplinary portal for East European "Studies.
  • Visual History Archive Online (VHA Online)
    "Welcome to the Visual History Archive Online (VHA Online) – an online portal from USC Shoah Foundation that allows users to search through and view nearly 52,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides. These testimonies were conducted in 58 countries and in 34 languages." You must register to use this site.
  • VOX
    “VoxEU.org is a policy portal set up by the Centre for Economic Policy Research (www.CEPR.org) in conjunction with a consortium of national sites. Vox aims to promote research-based policy analysis and commentary by leading scholars. The intended audience is economists in governments, international organisations, academia and the private sector as well as journalists specializing in economics, finance and business.”
  • World Bank
    The World Bank provides technical and financial assistance to developing countries. This site provides information about individual countries, current World Bank projects, and topical issues related to the organization’s assistance, including sustainability.
  • World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
    The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades, so you can see, for example, how “life expectancy at birth” has improved from 1960 up through the latest year.
  • World Bank – Open Knowledge Repository
    "The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
  • World Development Report Online
    From the World Bank.
  • World Development Report: Development and Climate Change
  • World News
    World News (WN) Network searches and displays news from worldwide sources in over 50 languages
  • www Virtual Library International Affairs Resources
    "This section of the WWW Virtual Library system is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of current information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.
  • WWW Virtual Library Labour History
    The Labour History section of the WWW Virtual Library, part of the WWW VL History Network, maintained by the International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, since October 1996.
U.S.demographics/economics
  • 2010 Census: Department of Labor and Workforce Development
     2010 Census data for New Jersey.
  • BEA – State BEARFACTS
    Quick economic and demographic data for states, from the Bureau of Economic Analysis.
  • Bracero Archive
    "The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964."
  • Crime Solutions
    "The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. "
  • Economic Policy Institute
    Nonpartisan think tank, focusing on needs of the American worker.
  • Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission Report
    The report of the commission appointed to determine the causes of the financial crisis of 2008.
  • Farm Subsidy Database
    Tracks farm subsidies from 1995 onward.
  • Geoplatform.gov
    Single gateway to local, federal and state online geospatial data. Platform developed by the Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC), chaired by the Secretary of the U.S. Dept of Interior, and comprised of representatives from various federal agencies.
  • Great American Business Leaders of the Twentieth Century
    From Harvard School, a database to "identify and chronicle the lives of 20th century men and women whose business leadership shaped the ways that people live, work, and interact. "
  • Index. NYCdata
    Through the Weissman Center for International Business, Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College/CUNY.
  • Indigenous Governance Database - Native Nations Institute
    "NNI’s mission is to assist in the building of capable Native nations that can effectively pursue and ultimately realize their own political, economic, and community development objectives. "
  • Industry Snapshots from the Economic Census
    Statistics on industries, subdivided by NAICS code, based on the Economic Census done every 5 years.
  • Iraq and Afghanistan War Veterans Oral History Project
    From the University Of Utah's American West Center: "Our objective is to provide marines, soldiers, sailors, and Air Force personnel the opportunity to recount their service in these two conflicts while their memories are still relatively recent. Rather than focusing on tactical matters – the staple of the oral histories of these two conflicts taken by the military – we asked soldiers to reflect on the social and cultural dimensions of their time in uniform. The preponderance of interviews we’ve taken to date focus on the initial years of the Iraq war. We look forward to partnering with other men and women who have served in uniform to record their experience of other periods and aspects of these incredibly important conflicts."
  • Kids Count Data Center
    "A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families."
  • Labor and Workplace Studies
    "The University of Maryland (UMD) Libraries is home to numerous special collections  holdings that relate to Labor in America.  The collections consist of international labor unions as well as Maryland-related labor movements and issues. The digital surrogates within Labor in America not only document specific labor unions, such as the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America (UBCJA) and the Cigar Makers International Union, they also illustrate how labor and labor movements developed in North America from the colonial times to the present day."
  • Mapping the Measure of America
    A product of the Social Science Research council; mapping data used in the Human Development Index.
  • Measuring Worth
    "There are two missions of this site. The first is to make available to the public the highest quality and most reliable historical data on important economic aggregates, with particular emphasis on "nominal (current-price) measures, as well as real (constant-price) measures. The data presented here on the United States, United Kingdom and Australia, have been created using the highest standards of the fields of economics and history, and they were rigorously refereed by the most distinguished researchers in the fields. The second is to provide carefully designed compartors (using these data) that explain the many issues involved in making value comparison over time."
  • MetroTrends
    "Urban Institute’s report card on social and economic trends in urban America."
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service: NCJRS
    Topical index to National Criminal Justice documents, information.
  • National League of Cities
    “The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. Working in partnership with the 49 state municipal leagues, NLC serves as a resource to and an advocate for the more than 19,000 cities, villages and towns it represents.”
  • New Jersey by the Numbers
    From the Star Ledger. Covers topics such as public payrolls, property taxes, education, crime, elections and more.
  • New Jersey Information – From NJ State Library
    N.J. Digital Collections, N.J. Genealogy, N.J. Legal Resources, N.J. Newspapers, N.J. Searchable Publications, N.J. State Databases, N.J. by Topic, State of New Jersey Website
  • New Jersey State Archives: Imaged Collections
    "Over 7,100 images from our photograph and manuscript collections are presented below and in our Documentary Treasures area. Consult the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of these and other images available from the New Jersey State Archives."
  • New Jersey State Homepage
    Gateway to NJ Government sites and documents. (Free website)
  • Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
    Provides definitions for terms used in sociology, criminology, political science, and women’s studies. Product of Athabasca U., Canada, and the Intl. Consortium for the Advancement of Academic Publication (ICAAP).
  • Pew Research Center
    Pew Institute survey and polling information.
  • Regional Economic Conditions RECON
    40,000+ charts, maps and tables of data at the state, MSA (Metropolitan Statistical Area) and county level economic data.
  • Resources on Faith, Ethics, and Public Life
    "Interest in the intersection of religion and international affairs is growing around the world, and this database serves as a companion resource to the recently released edited volumeRethinking Religion and World Affairs, one of the first comprehensive guides to this complex topic. This page also includes links to the activities sponsored by the Henry R. Luce Initiative on Religion and International Affairs and to other networks of organizations and programs that address religion, society,..."
  • Show@USA
    "SELECT a subject from the top menu and watch the states on the map change their size. Instead of land mass, the size of each state will represent the data for that subject--both its share of the total and absolute value." Maps the world as well.  
  • Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
    "The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at theUniversity at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York."
  • State Fact Sheets – USDA Economic Research Service
    "State fact sheets provide information on population, income, education, employment, federal funds, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports, for each State in the United States. Links to county-level data are included when available."
  • State of the News Media
    An annual report on American Journalism.
  • States Perform
    “States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
  • Statistics for Specific Industries | SBA.gov
    Data about specific industries collected by the U.S. Federal Government, specifically selected for small business owners...
  • Tax Policy Center
    "Analysis of current and emerging tax policy issues" from the Brookings institution and the Urban Institute.
  • TED: The Editors Desk
    "Each business day, The Editor's Desk: brings fresh information from all over the Bureau of Labor Statistics right to your computer screen or smartphone highlights intriguing BLS data that you might otherwise have missed focuses on one or two specific points of a report rather than presenting a general summary provides links to further analysis at the bottom of each story"
  • Union Membership and Coverage Database from the CPS
    "The Union Membership and Coverage Database, available at www.unionstats.com, is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the monthly household Current Population Survey (CPS) using BLS methods.  Economy-wide estimates are provided beginning in 1973; estimates by state, detailed industry, and detailed occupation begin in 1983; and estimates by metropolitan area begin in 1986.  The Database, constructed by Barry Hirsch (Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, Georgia State University) and David Macpherson (Department of Economics, Trinity University), was created in 2002 and is updated annually."
  • USAspending.gov
    “Have you ever wondered where Federal contracting dollars and grant awards go? Or perhaps you would just like to know, as a citizen, what the Government is really doing with your money.”
  • Utah American Indian Digital Archive
    "The Utah American Indian Digital Archive (UAIDA) is a gateway to the best resources regarding Utah’s Indian tribes. With articles, books, government documents, tribal documents, oral histories, photographs, and maps pertaining to the Northwestern Shoshone, Goshute, Paiute, Utah Navajo, White Mesa, and Ute Indians, this unique archive captures the complicated history of Utah’s tribes from multiple perspectives. The project, which stems from forty years of research conducted by the University of Utah’s American West Center on behalf of Utah’s Indians, offers tribal members, students, and researchers unprecedented access to information about the rich history and culture of Utah’s native peoples."
  • Wage Determinations OnLine
    "Providing public access to federal wage determinations and other information."
  • West Coast Poverty Center
    "A hub for research, education, and policy analysis leading to greater understanding of the causes and consequences of poverty and effective approaches to reducing it in the west coast states."
  • Women Working, 1800-1930
    “Women Working is a digital exploration of women’s impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University." Digitized pages and images, manuscripts and personal papers, institutional record; cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and photographs.”
U.S. politics/policy
  • A New Nation Votes
    Election results from early elections.
  • Advanced Energy Legislation Tracker - Colorado State University
    "U.S. states are the laboratories of innovation for advanced energy policy. Tracking national trends in advanced energy therefore requires proficiency in 50 state legislative websites. The AEL Tracker solves this challenge by collecting all advanced energy legislation into one database, assigning each bill to one of ten policy categories and providing a searchable, visual database complete with trend analysis and reporting."
  • American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications
    Online access to many of the founding Fathers’ writings, from the Library of Congress.
  • American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
    Links to numerous primary documents, audio recordings, images and more. Browse by topic of search by keyword.
  • American National Election Studies
    “The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists….” Also links to other election studies from other countries.
  • American Presidency Project
    "The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database."
  • American President: Resource on the U.S. Presidents
    From the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, an excellent reference source for US presidents, with biographical and professional information and loads of links to more resources.
  • Annotated Constitution
    Excellent resource for understanding the U.S. Constitution.
  • Avalon Project
    “The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. “
  • Bipartisan Policy Center
    "Founded in 2007 by former Senate Majority Leaders Howard Baker, Tom Daschle, Bob Dole and George Mitchell, the Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC) is a non-profit organization that drives principled solutions through rigorous analysis, reasoned negotiation and respectful dialogue."
  • BRB Free Public Records
    The “most comprehensive directory of free public record sites, reference material, and public record vendors available.”
  • Brookings Institution
    "The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals: Strengthen American democracy; Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.”
  • Browse Topics: Your Pathway to Government Information
    "Browse Topics is a resource designed to be the pathway to any publicly-accessible, Government information."
  • C-Span Video Library
    "The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, totaling over 201,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives."
  • CensusScope
    CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.
  • Center for the Study of the Public Domain
    "The Center for the Study of the Public Domain at Duke Law School.... founded in September of 2002, as part of the school's wider intellectual property program, its mission is to promote research and scholarship on the contributions of the public domain to speech, culture, science and innovation, to promote debate about the balance needed in our intellectual property system and to translate academic research into public policy solutions." 
  • Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
    "The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories across the United States."
  • City Mayors – Mayors Running the World’s Cities
    News and information site from the City Mayors Foundation.
  • Columbia Journalism Review: Guide to Online News Startups
    Profiles new online news resources. Searchable by keyword and sortable by location, business type, coverage type, etc.
  • Commission on Presidential Debates
    The Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) was established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners. Its primary purpose is to sponsor and produce debates for the United States presidential and vice presidential candidates and to undertake research and educational activities relating to the debates. The organization, which is a nonprofit, nonpartisan , 501(c)(3) corporation, sponsored all the presidential debates in 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2008.
  • Congress Votes Database
    Excellent resource for voting records of Congress, from the Washington Post.
  • County and City Data Books
    This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
  • CQ RollCall Politics
    "The source for news on Capital Hill since 1955."
  • Disability.gov
    Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
  • Encyclo: An Encyclopedia of the Future of News
    From the Nieman Journalism Lab, "an attempt to help journalism figure out its future in an Internet age….We aim to tell you about the most important drivers of journalism’s evolution."
  • Factcheck.org
    Aims to “Hold politicians accountable” by checking the facts cited by and about politicicans. A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
  • FBI Records – The Vault
    "The Vault is our new electronic reading room, containing more than 6,700 documents that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office."
  • Federal Register
    "The  Daily Journal of the US Government."
  • FedFlix : Free Movies : Download & Streaming : Internet Archive
    "The best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors." All videos are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever. Joint project between the National Technical Information Service and Public.Resource.Org.
  • Follow the Money: National Institute on Money in State Politics
    "Money in state politics plays a pivotal role in shaping public policy in individual states and across the nation. We track political donations in all 50 states."
  • Freedom in the 50 states
    “This [2011] study comprehensively ranks the American states on their public policies that affect individual freedoms in the economic, social, and personal spheres.” From the George Mason MERCATUS Center
  • FRUS, 1961-63: Cuban Missile Crisis and Aftermath
    Foreign Relations of the United States volume on the Cuban Missle Crisis, from the US Department of State, Office of the Historian. Official State Department documents related to the Cuban Missile Crisis.
  • Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum
    Includes both textual, audio, video and artifact collections related to the Ford era.
  • The Global Think Tank Directory
    "The Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (TTCSP) at the Lauder Institute, University of Pennsylvania conducts research on the role policy institutes play in governments and in civil societies around the world."
  • Governing: States and Localities
    "Since 1987, GOVERNING has provided state and local leaders with the non-partisan information, insight and intelligence needed to govern effectively.   As a catalyst for innovation, GOVERNING is dedicated to covering the politics, policies and programs essential to this audience.  See www.governing.com.   GOVERNING is a division of e.Republic, a national publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation. See www.erepublic.com."
  • GovPulse
    Searchable, browseable access to the Federal Register (proposed and final agency rules and regulations).
  • Historical Census Browser
    “In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. In a few cases, the census data were augmented with information from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Council of Churches of Christ.”
  • HUD User
    Reports and data compiled by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).
  • Immigration to the US, 1789-1930
    “Immigration to the US, 1789-1930 is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard’s libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. For Internet users worldwide, Immigration to the US provides unparalleled, free and open digital access to a significant selection of unique source materials—more than 410,000 pages, 100 individually cataloged maps, and 7,800 photographs.”
  • Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists
    “The Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists is a compact but highly complex, multi-layered compilation of documents, sound recordings, and visual images.”
  • Jamestown Foundation
    "The Jamestown Foundation’s mission is to inform and educate policy makers and the broader community about events and trends in those societies which are strategically or tactically important to the United States and which frequently restrict access to such information. Utilizing indigenous and primary sources, Jamestown’s material is delivered without political bias, filter or agenda. It is often the only source of information which should be, but is not always, available through official or intelligence channels, especially in regard to Eurasia and terrorism."
  • Kaiser Health Reform Gateway
    “Since we began in 1991, our goal has been to build an institution that plays a special role as a trusted source of information in a health care world dominated by vested interests. That institution-building process continues today.” 
  • LearnLiberty.org
    "LearnLiberty.org is a project of the Institute for Humane Studies (IHS).....a resource for learning about the ideas of a free society. Our goal is to provide a starting point for conversations on important questions: What is the nature of man and society? What are the best ways to organize human society?" What is the proper role for government?
  • Library – Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
    Provides full text access to a selection of intelligence documents. The Historical Collection and Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room contain historical documents.
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute
    Includes the King Papers.
  • National Center for PTSD
    From  the US Department of Veterans Affairs
  • National Conference of State Legislatures
    "The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories.  NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.  NCSL is an effective and respected advocate for the interests of state governments before Congress and federal agencies."
  • National Priorities Project
    "National Priorities Project (NPP) makes our complex federal budget transparent and accessible so people can exercise their right and responsibility to oversee and influence how their tax dollars are spent."
  • National Security Archive
    “An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. “
  • National Council on Disability
    "NCD is an independent federal agency charged with advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities."
  • Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government
    "Our mission at the Rockefeller Institute is not the same as that of many public policy institutes, or “think tanks.” Our job is not to advocate particular policies, but to enhance the capacities of state governments and the federal system to deal effectively with the nation’s domestic challenges.  We have long tracked and analyzed state fiscal conditions, tax policies, fiscal capabilities and spending trends. In nationwide field research studies, we have examined whether and how states have implemented major initiatives — and the institutional strengths and weaknesses revealed by such efforts. We have studied reforms to improve states’ executive leadership and to recruit and maintain a skilled state and local workforce. We have examined state capacity to contract with private agencies for public functions while holding these agencies accountable, and we have investigated the institutional capabilities demanded of states as they attempt to reform health care, integrate the delivery of human services and recover from natural disasters."
  • New Jersey Teacher Evaluations 2014-2015
    "This database shows the number of teachers each school who were rated in the following performance categories: Ineffective, Partially Effective, Effective and Highly Effective."
  • NixonTapes.org
    The site is a comprehensive and user-friendly collection of the secretly-recorded tapes made by President Richard Nixon between 1971 and 1973. The site currently offers all of the recordings that have been de-classified and released by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Transcriptions for many of the tapes are available, enabling the user to both listen and read the conversations at the same time.
  • Nonprofit and Philanthropy Good Practice: Good Practice Guide
    "The Good Practice Guide provides resources and tools for use by nonprofit and foundation professionals, and college students. "
  • Nuclear Vault: Resources from the Nuclear Weapons Documentation Project
    "Since the founding of the National Security Archive, nuclear crises, nuclear proliferation, and the role of nuclear weapons in U.S. policy have been central to its FOIA requesting. The overwhelming importance of the problem of nuclear weapons—an existential threat since the early years of the Cold War—has made this an essential focus. One of the Archive's first major projects was on the Cuban Missile Crisis; during the 1990s, other projects on Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy and U.S. Nuclear History followed. By the late 1990s, with the emergence of the World Wide Web, the Archive began routinely to post briefing books on nuclear weapons policy issues."
  • Office of the Historian, Department of State
    Historical documents and history of the Department of State.
  • Office of United States Trade Representation
    "The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) is responsible for developing and coordinating U.S. international trade, commodity, and direct investment policy, and overseeing negotiations with other countries."
  • Online Library of Liberty, from the Liberty Fund
    "Liberty Fund, Inc. is a private, educational foundation established in 1960 to encourage the study of the ideal of a society of free and responsible individuals. The Foundation develops, supervises, and finances its own educational activities to foster thought and encourage discourse on enduring intellectual issues pertaining to liberty." 
  • OpenCongress
    "A non-profit, non-partisan public resource"
  • OpenCRS
    "American taxpayers spend over $100 million a year to fund the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Yet, these reports are not made available to the public in a way that they can be easily obtained. Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are already in the public domain. CRS Reports do not become public until a member of Congress releases the report. A number of libraries and non-profit organizations have sought to collect as many of the released reports as possible. Open CRS is a centralized utility that brings together these reports." Not  all reports are available via CRS.
  • OpenSecrets
    "The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the organization aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government. In short, the Center's mission is to: Inform citizens about how money in politics affects their lives Empower voters and activists by providing unbiased information Advocate for a transparent and responsive government"
  • Open States
    "Open States is a collection of tools that make it possible for citizens to track what is happening in their state's capitol by aggregating information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico."
  • Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800
    Early War Department papers lost due to fire have been reassembled by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Invaluable source materials for research.
  • Peace Corps Digital Library
    "A searchable collection of official agency materials, and imagery and stories contributed by the Peace Corps community."
  • Political Graveyard: Search
    “A database of political history and cemeteries, with brief biographical entries for 224,230 U.S. political figures, living and dead, from the 1700s to the present.”
  • Presidential Libraries
    Scroll down to find online access to Presidential Libraries.
  • ProCon.org: Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues
    “We promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship. Our sites present controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format. “
  • Public Agenda
    "Public Agenda is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that helps diverse leaders and citizens navigate complex, divisive issues and work together to find solutions."
  • Public Health : Health Care Reform
    Health Care Reform legislation, blogs and news, from a librarian at Temple University.
  • Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
    The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive’s collection focuses on American politics and history with special attention paid to the American presidency.
  • State Blue Books
    "Welcome to SLDTF's wiki for State blue books. According to Wikipedia Blue book or Bluebook is a term often referring to an almanac or other compilation of statistics and information. The term dates back to the 15th century, when large blue velvet-covered books were used for record-keeping by the Parliament of the United Kingdom. Information for each state includes the following: State, "Blue Book" Title, URL (If available), and Notes (if any). This list was originally created by Daniel Cornwall and hosted at Bradley University by Denise Johnson. It was moved to SLDTF as a valuable project for the committee and for GODORT."
  • State Government Information Index
    "This guide offers basic information about each state (taken from the World Almanac and the Census Bureau) and links to pages developed by libraries and other organizations with detailed access to state government web sites. Some specialized types of pages (e.g., "Legal Resources") are so indicated.  Note that some of the resources listed on these libraries' pages might not be freely available to users outside of the institutions."
  • State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
    Through HUD. "The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs."
  • Sunlight Foundation
    "The Sunlight Foundation is a nonpartisan nonprofit founded in 2006 that uses the power of the Internet to catalyze greater government openness and transparency. "
  • Theodore Roosevelt Center at Dickinson State University
    "Creating a presidential digital library that will serve as a repository for all Roosevelt-related documents, photographs, and ephemera, providing instant access via the internet in a well-organized, comprehensible manner. “
  • Torture Archive
    "The Torture Archive, an ongoing project of the National Security Archive, is assembling at a single location documents from wide-ranging sources on United States government policy toward rendition, detainees, interrogation, and torture. In the aftermath of the September 11, 2001 attacks, and the George W. Bush administration's subsequent launching of its "Global War on Terror", the Afghanistan war, and the invasion of Iraq, rumors circulated of disappearances, abusive treatment of prisoners, "extraordinary renditions", and "black site" (secret) prisons."
  • U.S. Government Printing Office Style Manual
    Cite U.S. Government documents correctly.
  • Ulysses S. Grant Digital Collection
    "The digital collection consists of 31 volumes of The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, political cartoons, and sheet music from the larger collection. Other materials will be added to the digital collection as processing continues."
  • Undercover Reporting
    "This collaboration with NYU Libraries collects many decades of high-impact, sometimes controversial, mostly U.S.-generated journalism that used undercover techniques. It grows out of the research for Undercover Reporting: The Truth About Deception (Northwestern University Press, 2012), which argues that much of the valuable journalism since before the U.S. Civil War has emerged from investigations that employed subterfuge to expose wrong. "
  • Union Membership and Coverage Database from the CPS
    "The Union Membership and Coverage Database, available at www.unionstats.com, is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the monthly household Current Population Survey (CPS) using BLS methods.  Economy-wide estimates are provided beginning in 1973; estimates by state, detailed industry, and detailed occupation begin in 1983; and estimates by metropolitan area begin in 1986.  The Database, constructed by Barry Hirsch (Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, Georgia State University) and David Macpherson (Department of Economics, Trinity University), was created in 2002 and is updated annually."
  • United States Department of Agriculture - Economic Research Service
    "The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. With over 300 employees, The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture."
  • Vietnam Center and Archive, Texas Tech University
    Digitized collections and oral histories, as well as subject guides and FAQs.
  • Writing in College - A Short Guide to College Writing
    A guide to writing in college, from the University of Chicago.
U.S./ international law
 
  • AAAS Scientific Responsibility - Human Rights and Law Program
    "The Scientific Responsibility, Human Rights and Law Program addresses ethical, legal and human rights issues related to the conduct and application of science and technology"
  • Annotated Constitution
    Excellent resource for understanding the U.S. Constitution.
  • Brennan Center for Justice
    "The Brennan Center for Justice at NYU School of Law is a nonpartisan law and policy institute that seeks to improve our systems of democracy and justice. We work to hold our political institutions and laws accountable to the twin American ideals of democracy and equal justice for all. The Center’s work ranges from voting rights to campaign finance reform, from racial justice in criminal law to Constitutional protection in the fight against terrorism. A singular institution — part think tank, part public interest law firm, part advocacy group, part communications hub — the Brennan Center seeks meaningful, measurable change in the systems by which our nation is governed."
  • Center for the Study of the Public Domain
    "The Center for the Study of the Public Domain at Duke Law School.... founded in September of 2002, as part of the school's wider intellectual property program, its mission is to promote research and scholarship on the contributions of the public domain to speech, culture, science and innovation, to promote debate about the balance needed in our intellectual property system and to translate academic research into public policy solutions." 
  • Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
    "The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories across the United States."
  • Constitution Project
    "The Constitution Project brings together policy experts and legal practitioners from across the political spectrum to foster consensus-based solutions to the most difficult constitutional challenges of our time." Issues covered include "Checks and Balances," "Counterterrorism," "Criminal Discovery," "Data Collection and Privacy," the death penalty, "Government Surveillance and Searches," immigration, right to counsel, sentencing, and "Transparency and Accountability."
  • Court Listener
    This site was created by Michael Lissner as part of a masters thesis at the University of California, Berkeley School of Information. Michael was advised by Assistant Professor, Brian Carver. The goal of the site is to create a free and competitive real time alert tool for the U.S. judicial system. “At present, the site has daily information regarding all precedential opinions issued by the 13 federal circuit courts and the Supreme Court of the United States. Each day, we also have the non-precedential opinions from all of the Circuit courts except the D.C. Circuit. “
  • Crime Solutions
    "The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. "
  • Federal Judicial Center
    "Education and research agency for the Federal courts."GlobaLex
    "GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law."  
  • JuriGlobe - World Legal Systems Research Group
    "JuriGlobe is a research group formed by professors from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa, which focuses on the development of a multilingual information data bank, accessible to all on the internet, containing general information relating to the different legal systems in the world, to the different official languages and to some of the most important international commercial conventions, as well as other multilateral commercial tools."
  • JURIST – The Chicago Seven
    1969-70 trial of seven radicals accused of conspiring to incite a riot at the 1968 Democratic National Convention in Chicago.
  • Justia Regulation Tracker
    Track regulation in the Federal Register by agency.
  • Native American Rights Fund, National Indian Law Library
    "The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of theNative American Rights Fund (NARF) is a public law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL serves the public by developing and making accessible a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assisting people with their Indian law-related information needs."
  • New Jersey Law
      From Rutgers School of Law. Compilation of NJ legislation and regulations, judiciary decisions, and municipal and county ordinances. (Free Website.)
  • Online Books by United States Senate Committee on the Judiciary
    Online Books by United States Senate Committee on the Judiciary.
  • Open Jurist
    "Access to published United States legal opinions, Code and legal resources without charge. "
  • Oyez
    "The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. "
  • Scotusblog -Supreme Court of the United States Blog
    Official blog of the United States Supreme Court
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set Inventory
    What libraries have which volumes of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set?
  • United States Courts
    "How were the federal courts established? What kind of cases do they hear? What is the difference between state and federal courts? These might be some of the questions you're asking when you visit uscourts.gov, and the answers are a click away. Our Founding Fathers understood the need for an independent Judiciary, which was created under Article III of the United States Constitution. The Judicial Branch is one of the three separate and distinct branches of the federal government. The other two are the legislative and executive branches.
  • U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
    From the U.S. Department of State
  • War Powers - Law Library of Congress
    "This guide is intended to serve as an introduction to research on the War Powers Resolution, Public Law 93-148, 87 Stat. 555, passed over President Nixon's veto on November 7, 1973. The War Powers Resolution is sometimes referred to as the War Powers Act, its title in the version passed by the Senate. "
  • World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
    Links to resources in Criminal Justice.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480