PSYC 110 Psychology Preceptorial

Find background resources

Overviews of topics can provide both context and useful bibliographies that identify the key voices.  For both summaries and quick definitions, check encyclopedias - but watch the copyright dates!

  • Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders:  DSM-V-TR - Reference Counter RC455.2 .C4 D536 2013
  • The Merck Manual - Reference Counter RC 55.M4 2006
  • Handbook of Social Psychology, 2010 - Ref HM 1011.H37 2010
  • Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2010 - Ref BF 31. E52 2010
  • Handbook of psychology, 2003 - Ref BF121 .H1955
  • The encyclopedia of psychological trauma. 2008 - Ref RC552.P67 E53 2008
  • Encyclopedia of stress 2000 - Ref BF575.S75 E52 2000
  • Psychology & mental health - Ref BF636 .P86 2010
  • APA dictionary of psychology - Ref BF31 .V295 2006
  • Encyclopedia of Mental Health - Ref RA 790.5.E53 1998
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health - Ref RC 437.G36 2008
  • The Gale encyclopedia of medicine - Ref RC 41.G35 1999
  • Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders - Ref RC 514.N63 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties - Ref RC 535. D63 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders - Ref RC 547.Y34 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders - Ref RC552 .E18 C37 2000
  • International Encyclopedia of Public Health - Ref RA 423.I58 2008 vol. 4 section on Mental Health
  • The National Institutes of Mental Health http://www.nimh.nih.gov/index.shtml  supports research in numerous areas of metal health.
  • Medline Plus (from the National Institutes of Health)  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ also provides information mental health topics at:http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/mentalhealthandbehavior.html Links out to organizations focused on specific mental health issues, as well as statistics, public policy, clinical trials, research and more. 
  • The CDC  (Centers for Disease Control) provides statistics on certain mental health issues, such as alcohol, autism, obesity, injuries and violence. The CDC's survey data may also be helpful.
  • Oxford Reference Online (psychology/medicine)
Find scholarly research articles

What is a primary or empirical or clinical article? For some useful tips, see the guide for Primary Literature Identification (Sciences) 

The literature in psychology is dominated by journal articles, rather than books.  To locate useful articles, consult: 

PsycInfo - The primary index in the field of psychology, and the database you should ALWAYS try first.  Searches can be limited by the age of the population studied, the type of research, the sort of publication, etc.  Use the thesaurus to help identify terms to use. Guide for using PsycInfo.

PsycInfo is NOT a full-text database, although there are some links to material accessible through the database supplier.  To check to see if Drew owns or has access to the item, click on .

Biomedical Reference Collection -
More medical focus, but still covers many issues related to psychology.

ScienceDirect
Contains a fair amount of psychology journals. Drew does not have free access to most of the full text indexed in ScienceDirect.  But you will be able to request full text via InterLibraryLoan.

SocINDEX
Provides access to material in sociology, which includes some social psychology.

Google Scholar
Provides links to bibliographies that have been publicly posted on the web.  Excellent for transdisciplinary topics, but the lack of search options and professional indexing wears thin.

Find books

Although most of the research in psychology is published in the form of journal articles, books can sometimes be useful.  To locate relevant sources, check:

Drew Library Catalog
Lists books and journals held at Drew.  Titles of book chapters are sometimes included in the record, expanding the retrievability of more recent items.

WorldCat
The combined catalog of 20,000 libraries. If Drew doesn't own the book click on  to make an Inter-Library loan request.

Citation

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 2010. - Reference Counter BF76.7 .P83 2010

A useful guide is available at Purdue University's Online Writing Center (OWL).

Find out how to download and use EndNote Web to export citations in APA format. Use Internet Explorer when searching databases and exporting to Endnote Web for best results.

Search tips for PsycINFO
to search as a phrase, use "". For example "online social networks"
to connect synonyms, use OR. For example: facebook OR "social media"
use AND to connect concepts. For example: facebook AND "social engagement"
truncate endings of words with an *. For example: engag* finds engage; engages; engagement; engaging
If you only have a single search box and want to do a complicated search string, use (). "social engag*" AND (facebook OR "social media"). This is called nesting by librarians.
Find a journal/article title

Check to see if you have online or print access to a journal article via the Find Journals page.

You can also try the Summon search box   on the Library's Research Resourcespage. Type in as much of the article title as you can. 

Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Book Search
Search Library Catalog:
Subject Specialist
Picture: Rick Mikulski

Rick Mikulski
Social Sciences Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3480