Indexes nursing and allied health journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, practice guidelines and clinical trials.
( Some Links to full text )
Indexing for 22 key U.S. and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
- Healthcare research
- Regulatory issues
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Full text articles related to health care, medicine, nursing, dentistry and veterinary medicine.
Just under 400 Biology journal titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines clinical research titles with additional consumer and health administration titles. Covers full text and indexing in major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.
Full text of 800 journals and 4,500+ Doctoral Dissertations and Theses in the field of health administration, covering Health administration, Health professions, Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business, Management, Personnel, Ethics.
Full text of 700+ journals and dissertations, plus some journals indexed only, covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, including Cytology, Nutrition, Oncology, Pediatric Care, Pharmacology, Public Health, Radiology.
1,145+ journals in science — 965+ full text. 1986-.
The Annual Review of Public Health, in publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of Public Health, including key developments in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, issues related to social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice. (from website).
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States. Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest. Updated monthly.
Science Reference Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3483
- Harvard World Health News
News and links to other public health related sites.
- Health Data Tools and Statistics
A page of links to reliable sources of public health statistics from a partnership of government and public health organizations and health science libraries.
- World Health Organization (WHO)
Searchable information related to global health concerns and topics. Global statistical data and analysis available by health related topic. From the United Nations.
- Pandemic and Epidemic Disease (Global Alert and Response) from W.H.O.
Information about prevention and worldwide outbreak locations of approx. 15 epidemic diseases or disease types provided by World Health Organization (WHO). Links to other WHO pages provides additional information about disease. From the United Nations' World Health Organization.
- Department of Energy (DOE): Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
Information about health studies of DOE contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE worksites, primarily nuclear facilities. From the U.S. Dept of Energy.
Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
- Quick Health Data Online, from the Office of Women’s Health
US health data for use by the public health community, policymakers, grant writers, researchers, and students. Site provides buildable search by selecting topics “by category”, which include mental health, maternal health, prevention, “repro” health, and more; “by subcategory”, the menu of which is generated after category selection, and sort by “geography”. Other information includes “Health Disparities Profiles” which compares health issues by race, age and geography, and “State Fact Sheets” which offers health status indicators of the female population by U.S. state. From the U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services.
- States Perform
“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
- Kaiser Family Foundation
Detailed information about “major U.S. health issues”, including current health data for all 50 states, U.S. health policy news and information, and analysis of Affordable Care Act (ACA), i.e. “Obamacare”. Resource for studying U.S. healthcare policy. A privately funded, nonprofit group,
- Public Health : Health Care Reform
Health Care Reform legislation, blogs and news, from a librarian at Temple University.
- RWJF DataHub, from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Excellent U.S. national and state health statistical information searchable by broad categories like “public health”, “health care costs” and more. From a large U.S. private foundation.
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC) -- MMWR: The First 30 Years
Historical information (1952-1982) from the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR), a compilation of state health department reports. Resource for researching and analyzing U.S. disease trends. From the CDC, a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services.
- Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Digitized historical documents from the collections of Harvard University on diseases and epidemics.
- Influenza Encyclopedia
Digital collection of historical newspapers, public health reports and bulletins, and other materials relating to the 1918-1919 influenza epidemic, including analyses of the civic response and the political and economic ramifications on a U.S. city-by-city basis. From the University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine and Publishing.
- Gapminder: Unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view.
Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries are web-services displaying time series of development statistics for all countries, "converting boring numbers into enjoyable, animated and interactive graphics."
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
Learn to design posters and power point presentations as well as how to write proposals, lab reports, dissertations, journal articles.
- Writing in College - A Short Guide to College Writing
A guide to writing in college, from the University of Chicago.
- Quick Health Data Online, from the Office of Women’s Health See discussion under Government Information above.