Russian Studies

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ABSEES Online Restricted Resource
Indexes articles, books, reviews, dissertations and government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Finding Articles

ABSEES Online Restricted Resource
Indexes articles, books, reviews, dissertations and government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
Columbia International Affairs Online CIAO Restricted Resource
An international public policy database with full text access to research from universities, NGOs, foundations, conferences, maps, journals and books.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Index/Search Tool

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Restricted Resource
Indexes linguistics and related literature.

Citation Styles

MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.

Web Sites

LearnRussian Resource contains audio
Practice language lesson site useful for review in Russian Language learning. Somewhat pro-Putin.
REESWEB: the Virtual Library for Russian and Eastern European Studies
Indexes electronic resources on Russia, CIS, Balkans and Eastern Europe; maintained by the Slavic bibliographer at the University of Pittsburgh.
Russian Internet Resources
Beautifully organized index to excellent links pertaining to literature, language, culture, history, government, and politics as well as newspapers, journals, libraries, and museums. From the British Library
Zembla
A site “dedicated to the life and works… of Vladimir Nabokov.” By the Arts & Humanities Library at Penn State.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: