Sociology

All Items by Source

Core Databases

SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
“Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.”

Background

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Dictionary of Sociology
Brief overviews, from Oxford UP.

Finding Articles

EconLit Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliography of international economic literature, with selected abstracts. Indexes over 400 major journals.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
Proquest Criminal Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available
U.S. and international criminal justice journals. abstract and indexing for 250 titles, 100+ in full-text.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource
Abstracts and indexes “current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.”
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
“Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.”
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Scholarly articles on national and international topics in Political Science.

Full Text Articles

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of a mix of publications, primarily popular, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Proquest Criminal Justice Restricted Resource Some full text available
U.S. and international criminal justice journals. abstract and indexing for 250 titles, 100+ in full-text.
Proquest Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
 

Full text of 275+ journals in sociology and social work.


ScienceDirect Restricted Resource
The Elsevier Science Direct journal collection covers disciplines in addition to physical and life sciences, e.g. social sciences; indexes over 2,800 journals; full text available for over 1,000 journals.
note: Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content,
please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM)
or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
Click here for instructions and more details.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Databib: Research Data Repositories
Pulls together links for more than 500 data repositories.
Human Mortality Database
Detailed mortality and population data for 37 countries.  Set up a free account to access data sets.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Citation Styles

American Sociological Association Style Guide
Print Location: Reference Counter HM 586.A547 2010

Formatting in Sociology (ASA Style)
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to using the American Sociological Association citation/reference format.

Encyclopedias

A to Z of Social Research, 2003.
Defnitions and guides to methods and issues.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2007.
Print Location: Reference HM425.B53
Edited by George Ritzer, an eleven-volume collection of summaries and overviews.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering “Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.”

Government Information

FDsys
Catalog of U.S.Government Publications. Documents from 1976 onward can be found in this catalog. Links to full text where available. (free website)

Statistics/Data

American Factfinder Some full text available
Demographic and other statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. Free U.S. Government Website.
County and City Data Books
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Data.gov
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
ICPSR Direct Restricted Resource
Data sets in social sciences. (You must create a MyData account to download data.)

Web Sites

SocioSite
List of sites by subject with an international perspective.
Bracero Archive
"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964."
Census Bureau Home Page
Offers a variety of data access tools, provides access to County Business Patterns, the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Occupation by Race and Sex, USA Counties, International Trade Data, etc.
CensusScope
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.
Crime Solutions
"The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. "
Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to “the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region.”
Digitized Afghanistan Materials in English
From the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection.
Disability.gov
Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to more than 14,000 resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
European Union Institutions and Bodies
Links to EU units. Collected by  Berkeley Library.
EuroStat
All sorts of statistics about and from the European Union. Make your own data reports using their statistics database.
Freedom in the 50 states
“This [2011] study comprehensively ranks the American states on their public policies that affect individual freedoms in the economic, social, and personal spheres.” From the George Mason MERCATUS Center
Gapminder: Unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view.
Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries are web-services displaying time series of development statistics for all countries, "converting boring numbers into enjoyable, animated and interactive graphics."
Happy Planet Index
Tracks life expectancy, satisfaction levels and consumption worldwide.
HathiTrust
A digital library of public domain and in copyright digitized works. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record.
Historical Census Browser
“In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. In a few cases, the census data were augmented with information from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Council of Churches of Christ.”
Immigration to the US, 1789-1930
“Immigration to the US, 1789-1930 is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard’s libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. For Internet users worldwide, Immigration to the US provides unparalleled, free and open digital access to a significant selection of unique source materials—more than 410,000 pages, 100 individually cataloged maps, and 7,800 photographs.”
Index. NYCdata
Through the Weissman Center for International Business, Zicklin School of Business, Baruch College/CUNY.
International Data Base - U.S. Census Bureau
"The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. "
Julian Dierkes’ SocioLog
Offers many valuable resource links, including some to lists of Sociology departments in the United States and Canada.
King Center Digital Archive
“Established in 1968 by Mrs. Coretta Scott King, The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (“The King Center”) has been a global destination, resource center and community institution for over a quarter century. “
LABORSTA Internet
International Labor statistics of all kinds, from the International Labour Office.
Mapping the Measure of America
A product of the Social Science Research council; mapping data used in the Human Development Index.
Minority Rights Group International
News about threatened minority groups around the world. Includes the Peoples Under Threat survey
National Criminal Justice Reference Service: NCJRS
Topical index to National Criminal Justice documents, information.
Nonprofit and Philanthropy Good Practice: Good Practice Guide
"The Good Practice Guide provides resources and tools for use by nonprofit and foundation professionals, and college students. "
Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Provides definitions for terms used in sociology, criminology, political science, and women’s studies. Product of Athabasca U., Canada, and the Intl. Consortium for the Advancement of Academic Publication (ICAAP).
Open Directory: Sociology
Recommendations from one of the largest directories on the web.
Population Index on the Web
“Primary reference tool to the world’s population literature” from Princeton University.
States Perform
“States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. “ From the Council of State Governments.
UNdata
A single entry point for UN statistical databases.
West Coast Poverty Center
"A hub for research, education, and policy analysis leading to greater understanding of the causes and consequences of poverty and effective approaches to reducing it in the west coast states."
World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world. Most indicators cover several decades, so you can see, for example, how “life expectancy at birth” has improved from 1960 up through the latest year.
World Bank – Open Knowledge Repository
"The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
Links to resources in Criminal Justice.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481