Spanish

All Items by Source

Core Databases

MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.

Background

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology, 2000
Brief articles, with useful bibliographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Referencia Latina Restricted Resource
comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of  sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries.
Referencia Latina Restricted Resource
comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of  sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries.

Finding Articles

America History and Life Restricted Resource
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Ethnic Newswatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
FIAF Restricted Resource
International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) resources on films and film studies, many full text. International Index to Film Periodicals is the main database.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Web version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies from the Library of Congress contains the most recent volumes of the scholarly bibliography. Includes books as well as journals, but no direct links to Drew holdings. Earlier volumes of the bibliography are available in the Drew Library.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books and dissertations on world history, excluding US and Canadian history, since 1450.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Restricted Resource
Indexes linguistics and related literature.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general index to popular, professional and scholarly publications. Many full text articles available.
SciELO Citation Index Restricted Resource
The SciELO Citation Index includes: • Approximately 700 titles • Over 4 million cited references • Open access with links to full text through the SciELO site • Weekly updates from the SciELO Brazil data feed • Simplified discovery process for local information in a regional database • An easy search experience with local language interface
note: Choose "Web of Science and Knowledge from A-Z Database List.  Then choose SciELO Citation Index from the dropdown. 

Full Text Articles

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Selectively indexes, with full text, over 5700 publications in news, business, law and matters of popular interest, mostly from the last ten years.

Citation Styles

MLA Formatting and Style Guide – The OWL at Purdue
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab’s guide to the most commonly used citation format in the humanities.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Reference Counter LB 2369.G53 2009
Offical Style manual and citation manual of the Modern Language Association, used extensively by writers and professors in the literature and arts areas.
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Print Location: Reference Counter PN 147.G444 2008

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford encyclopedia covering the 5th to the 15th century.
Latino American cinema, 2012
Print Location: Reference PN1995.9 .L37 B38 2012
Information on individuals, films, and concepts, with primary (although not exclusive) focus on the U.S.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering “Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.”

Web Sites

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica
Digitized collections of the National Library of Spain.
County and City Data Books
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000).
Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art
Access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States; from the International Center for the Arts of the Americas, Museum of Fine Arts/Houston.
Latin American Business History – Resources and Research
Oral Histories and listings of Latin American Business History related special collections from Harvard Business School.
Latin American Network Information Center
Top-ranked collection of sites on Central and South America, covering a full range of interests. University of Texas.
Lydia Cabrera Papers
Papers of a leading researcher on Cuban folklore and Afro-Cuban culture and religion.
Portuguese Culture

"Portuguese Culture is a special Digital Library Project undertaken by the National Library of Portugal with the financial support of the Luso-American Development Foundation... making freely available on the Internet English translations of works by Portuguese authors and other works in English that deal with Portugal and aspects of the Portuguese culture."


Termium Plus
The Government of Canada’s terminology and linguistic data bank.
VoS: Spanish & Portuguese
Pulls together carefully selected web sites on literature in Spanish. This is a section of one of the most highly regarded directories in the humanities, maintained by UC/Santa Barbara.
Finding Spanish language material
Many databases will permit limiting by language - check the first screen before beginning a search, or narrow/refine your results.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481

Picture: Jenne Heise

Jenne Heise
Web Manager
Tel: 973-408- 3675

Picture: Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
Reference Associate
Tel: 973-408- 3487

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: