Religion and Theology

All Items by Source

Core Databases

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.

Finding Articles

Arts & Humanities Full Text Restricted Resource
Full text resources covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
A comprehensive reference tool for religious and theological scholarship 1949 to the present, which also includes full text of the entire runs of a core collection of more than 50 English-language scholarly journals, as well as indexing thousands more books and journals.
General Religion Search Restricted Resource
Search ATLA, Old Testament Abstracts, New Testament Abstracts, and Index Islamicus with one search.
KCI- Korean Journal Database Restricted Resource
The KCI Korean Journal Database adds: • Text from approximately 2,000 scholarly journals, over 1,800 of which are new to the Web of Science • Mixture of open-access and subscription model titles • Most content provided in Korean and English • Weekly updates from Korean National Research Foundation data feed
note: Choose "Web of Science and Knowledge" from A-Z database list. Then choose KCI- Korean Journal Database from the dropdown. 
L’Année Philologique Restricted Resource Some full text available
Large and very deep database covering many aspects of Classical Antiquity; sources are in several languages. No full text. Also useful for Bible and Ancient Christianity; covers ancient authors and modern interpretations.
New Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource
Journal articles, books, book reviews, and software relating to New Testament studies. Includes English abstracts of all items. Coverage is 1985-
Old Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource
Journal articles, books, essays in books, and software relating to Old Testament studies. Includes English abstracts of all items. Coverage is 1978-
Proquest Religion Restricted Resource
Indexing and some full text of 150 religion and related journals.
RAMBI
Index to articles in Jewish studies from the Jewish National and University Library.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) Restricted Resource
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it.
Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.

Books

Ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Drew's Ebrary Subscription offers access to over 85,000 academic books for online reading.
note: Sign up for an ebrary account to download books or save them on a bookshelf.
Fordham Scholarship Online – Religion Restricted Resource Some full text available
Fordham University Press religion e-books.
Ministry Matters Restricted Resource Some full text available
Bible reference e-book library (dictionaries and commentaries) as well as other ministry resources.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Religion Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of Oxford University Press books in the subject area of religion.

Videos

MEF Digital Media Education Foundation streaming video Restricted Resource
The MEF Digital streaming media collection includes over 120 documentaries in business, health, humanities, sciences, and the arts.

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online – Biblical Studies Restricted Resource
A literary guide to the most important and significant sources in Biblical Studies. Features a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult, with a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. ( click “Biblical Studies” box )

Dictionaries

Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible
Print Location: Reference

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (Kittel)
Print Location: Reference BS2312 .K5813

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
Print Location: Reference BS440 .B5713

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses on humanities and social sciences.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Judaica
Print Location: Reference DS102.8 .E496 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia covering “Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.”
Encyclopedia of Ancient History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: Reference BL31 .E46 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Major reference work in religion and related subjects.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Print Location: Reference BL2520 .E52 Restricted Resource Some full text available
“Explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. “
New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd ed.
Print Location: Reference BX841 .N44
A major reference work with an emphasis on the Roman Catholic tradition
Oxford African American Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, Africana, content from the African American National Biography project, Encyclopedia of African American Art & Architecture, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, articles from other reference works, bibliographies, timelines, maps, images, primary source documents, links to Internet resources.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Print Location: Reference BR95 .O8 Restricted Resource Some full text available

Handbooks & Guides

Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: Reference Counter/Level C : Z253 .U69 2010 Restricted Resource
Full text of the University of Chicago Manual of Style, along with Q&A, tools, and Quick Citation Guide.
Writing a Research Paper in Theological Studies
A 10-step guide to writing a research paper, by Dr. Ernie Rubinstein.

Web Sites

Center for the Study of Religion
Center for the Study of Religion is based at Princeton University. Resources for the study of “the social, historical, and cultural complexity” of North American religion.
GlobeTheoLib
Partly sponsored by the World Council of Churches, this website offers access to a range of scholarly texts, including many of the Oxford Handbooks to religion
Religious Studies Web Guide
Designed for use in the academic study of religion at all levels.
The Immanent Frame
A digital project created in conjunction with the Religion and the Public Sphere program of the Social Science Research Council.
Theological Commons Some full text available
"A digital library of 76,717 books and journals on theology and religion" courtesy Princeton Theological Seminary and the Internet Archive.  Most of the books were published before 1926.
Virtual Religion Index
A far-ranging directory of sites in religious studies, each briefly annotated and classified.
Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion
Exemplary guide to internet resources in all aspects of religious studies
Historical Studies
  • 200 Years of United Methodism
    The Story of United Methodism in America. Text by John G. McEllhenney, one hundred twenty-eight illustrations from the Archives and History Center of the United Methodist Church, from the book published by Drew University, Madison, New Jersey, 1984.
  • AdHoc Image and Text Database on History of Christianity
    Digitized reports and images relating especially to the history of Christian missions, courtesy Yale Divinity School.
  • ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI)
    ATLA hosts collections of religion-related art pieces, manuscripts and letters, photographs, even postcards and shape-note music. Digital images from the libraries and special collections of ATLA member libraries, including: photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, sermons, art…
  • Christian Classics Ethereal Library
    Contains patristic texts and later religious writings of historical interest
  • Church History from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
    Online access to resources of the library and museum of the LDS in Salt Lake City, including full-text of documents and many images
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    Indexes journal articles and essays on women in the Middle Ages.
  • Historical Census Browser
    “In addition to basic counts of population and housing units, all decades contain information on race, gender, and some measure of household size and composition. Beginning with 1840, some economic characteristics such as education and occupation are included. Later decades have many variables, including ancestry, literacy, and income variables. In a few cases, the census data were augmented with information from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Council of Churches of Christ.”
  • LGBT Religious Archives Network
    Rich gateway to archival resources documenting religious life and history of LGBT persons.
  • Methodist Web Links
    Clear, thoughtful, useful page. Divided into different units covering Methodism in the US and worldwide, sister denominations (e.g., AME, Wesleyan, and Nazarene Churches ), and related institutions and libraries.  From Drew University Methodist Library
  • OEN Bibliography Database
    The Old English Newsletter Database serves as an index to scholarly material in Anglo-Saxon studies. Free registration required.
  • Online Medieval and Classical Library
    “The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization."
  • Patrologia Latina
    The full set of this classic (but not critical) edition of the Latin church fathers, in PDFs
  • Post-Reformation Digital Library
    Beautifully organized gateway to online fulltext sources for study of early modern theology
  • Quarterly Review
    Complete, fulltext issues of the Methodist periodical, Quarterly Review, 1980-2005.
  • Resources for American Christianity
    Unique database comprising full text of essays, interviews, study guides related to projects funded by the Lilly Endowment
  • American Society for Church History
Theology and Philosophy
  • American Transcendentalism Web Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
    Well organized approach to an expansive topic, including original essays, identifications of key figures and terms, and links to primary source material
  • Asociación para La Educación Teológica Hispana
    Since its creation AETH has been at the forefront of the discussion on the impact of the growth of the Latino population and the Hispanic/Latino church on theological education. Its main concern has been with the theological formation of Hispanic/Latino pastors and church leaders in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico.
  • Latino/a Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies
    A bibliography of books and articles by Catholic and Anglican Latino/a theologians and religion scholars
  • Process and Faith Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
    An interfaith site, including articles, lectionaries, liturgies and bibliographies, devoted to process thought, from the Center for Process Studies at Claremont School of Theology.
  • Women & Theology
    "Annotated list of links to Internet resources related to women in religion, feminist theology, and the feminine divine."  Developed by Women’ and Gender Studies Section of Association of College and Research Libraries.
Religion and Society
 
  • Adherents.com
    Useful and interesting collection of membership statistics and location.
  • Africa Knowledge Project
    Africa Knowledge Project, known as AKP, promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora. You can pay to download an article, as well as get an individual subscription directly on our website
  • Arabic Network For Human Rights Information
    Collects the publications, campaigns, reports, and statements of the various human rights organizations, so that the daily product of those organizations is available in one place, updated daily.
  • Association of Religion Data Archives
    Contains statistical data files that can be searched and used singly or combined; as well as other reference aids
  • Center for Applied Research in the Apostolate
    Posts results of social scientific studies of the Catholic Church (though not all freely available).
  • Center for Religion and Civic Culture (USC)
    “The Center for Religion and Civic Culture at USC was founded in 1996 to create, translate, and disseminate scholarship on the civic role of religion in a globalizing world.”
  • Faith, Ethics and Public Life
    From Georgetown University’s Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affairs, provides information and links on relation between world religions and international affairs
  • Global Oneness Project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Some full text available
    Website of stories and dvds for purchase that present "stories exploring the threads that connect culture, ecology and beauty."
  • Hartford Institute for Religion Research
    Especially useful for sociologists of religion and D.Min students, this site offers access to research produced by the Hartford Institute, and links to related research. Pastors may find useful the several congregational assessment inventories.
  • Korean Heritage Library | East Asian Library
    University of Southern California has one of the leading Korean Studies programs in the US; this is its website. Provides access to a full range of information resources for both Korean and Korean-American subjects.
  • Latino/a Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies
    A bibliography of books and articles by Catholic and Anglican Latino/a theologians and religion scholars
  • Mental Health & Psychology Resources Online
    Excellent resource for pastoral counseling. Can be searched for information at different levels. Links to support groups as well as medical information for specific categories in mental health. Includes physical disease and disability support resources. From Psych Central.
  • Nielsen’s Psychology of Religion Pages
    Fine site for graduate students and teachers in the field of Religion and Psychology and therapists interested in blending psychology and spirituality. Includes sections on New Religious Movements and on Science and Religion. By M. Nielsen (Georgia Southern U.)
  • Pew Research Center
    Pew Institute survey and polling information.
  • RealClearReligion
    "A catch-all source for religion stories, opinion and controversy ... religion in itself and religion as it touches our lives through music, books, business, history and -- yes, sigh -- politics."
  • Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly | PBS
    One-of-a-kind tv news journal on topics of current religious interest
  • Religion Dispatches
    "Religion Dispatches is a daily online magazine that publishes a mix of expert opinion, in-depth reporting, and provocative updates from the intersection of religion, politics and culture."
Christian Practices
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jesse Mann

Jesse Mann
Theological Librarian
Tel: 973-408- 3472

Book Search
Search Library Catalog: