Women's Studies

All Items by Source

Core Databases

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included

Background

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Essays on topics from abortion to working environments.

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
SOCIndex Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Indexes publications in women’s studies and related fields, 1972-present. Journals, news sources, web pages, dissertations, books and book chapters are included

Full Text Articles

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text database of a mix of publications, primarily popular, that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Women Writers Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
230+ sources from pre-Victorian women.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Print Location: Reference HQ 1115.E54 2009
Background information on a wide range of topics, with recommended readings for further exploration.
Oxford African American Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, Africana, content from the African American National Biography project, Encyclopedia of African American Art & Architecture, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, articles from other reference works, bibliographies, timelines, maps, images, primary source documents, links to Internet resources.

Web Sites

Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project
"The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project documents the female experience in the U.S. Armed Forces through letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts, and oral histories. It contains more than 500 individual collections which includes 300 oral histories. Housed and maintained in the University Archives in Jackson Library, the materials are a research collection for scholars of military history as well as women's studies."
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles and essays on women in the Middle Ages.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
"A non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary women from around the world."
LABORSTA Internet
International Labor statistics of all kinds, from the International Labour Office.
LGBT Religious Archives Network
Rich gateway to archival resources documenting religious life and history of LGBT persons.
Nielsen’s Psychology of Religion Pages
Fine site for graduate students and teachers in the field of Religion and Psychology and therapists interested in blending psychology and spirituality. Includes sections on New Religious Movements and on Science and Religion. By M. Nielsen (Georgia Southern U.)
Show@USA
"SELECT a subject from the top menu and watch the states on the map change their size. Instead of land mass, the size of each state will represent the data for that subject--both its share of the total and absolute value."

Maps the world as well.

 
WGSSLinks Women and Philosophy Web Sites
Collection of resources serves as a gateway to feminist work in philosophy and to the professional community of women in philosophy. Includes major link for “Feminist Theory.” By the Women’s Studies Section of ACRL.
WomanStats Project
Provides information on the status of women worldwide.

Women Working, 1800-1930 Resource contains images

“Women Working is a digital exploration of women’s impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University."
Digitized pages and images, manuscripts and personal papers, institutional record; cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and photographs.”


Women's Studies Resources
Culls major news stories on women around the globe.
WomensLaws.org
Provides state-specific legal information and resources for survivors of domestic violence. A project of the National Network to End Domestic Violence (NNEDV).
Women’s Studies Database
From the University of Maryland, this links to a variety of topics concerning women and feminism.
Chat with a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Jody Caldwell

Jody Caldwell
Head of Reference
Tel: 973-408- 3481